Back to the 70s.....and I thought I was just going to another continent!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Well here goes for another entry. I'm sorry I haven't been on more often, and especially sorry I haven't replied to messages as quickly as I'd have liked but the honest truth is that I have just been so busy.
Work is going really well. I'm doing something different everyday. Highlights of the week have included teaching the patients Welsh, in exchange for them teaching me Zulu. They are, I have to say much better at the Welsh than I am at the Zulu, surprise, surprise. They have very good ways of working phrases out too. For example, "Syt wyt ti?" has become "Sit and wait". I've also been to a convant, Japanese gardens, made home visits, helped with staff training, been to a board meeting and help develop a mother and child education program that is to be run in the townships, so as you can see, life's not dull.
The work can be hard but I don't feel it's right to really discuss it in my blog. That being said, my days are filled with so much laughter and smiles that it makes any of the tough moments easily worth it.
Next week I have a very exciting week lined up including a visit to see the Shark's rugby ground with the team's resident medic. The Sharks are one of the top teams in SA so I'm sooooooo excited. I'm also going to a local school to do some work with the kids so that should be fun too.
As for the social aspect, well let's just say that my thoughts of coming out here for a quiet, reserved life have not exactly come to light (Adam, if you're reading this, you were right).
Yesterday I went to the Durban air show with some friends and had a wonderful day, lying in the sun and watching some of the most amazing pilots show of their skills over the bay. All day I had to fight the urge to sing Top Gun songs but even quelling that desire, it was a fab day. I also tried a Boerewors which is like an Afrikaans hot dog but bigger and much tastier - certainly being a Veggie is not such a popular thing over here. Janice is still trying to get me to try Biltong, which is liek beef jerky, but honest to God, I can't tell the difference betwen it and a dog chew (sorry Janice).
Last night, Janice, Jerome and I went to a 70s birthday party at one of their friends' houses. If I tell you that before you were allowed in you had to do a tequila/champagne slammer, you'll probably get an idea of what the rest of the night was like (check out the pics I've tagged of myself on Facebook for those of you that are on it). Ben, whose party it was, had turned a corner of the garden in to liek a 70s dance floor with lava lamps, 70s hits and 3D posters. So we spent the night dancing like loons, drinking very dodgy punch and generally having a great time. My lack of sleep from the Red Bull content of the punch aside, I really am loving SA and am so glad to be here.
Going to sign off now as am going to the beach this afternoon to watch the second bit of the air show and hopefuly get in the water - even though my friends here think I'm barmy as it's winter and thus freezing for them. Oh well, more sea for me.

Will write soon.

L.

Advertisement



23rd July 2007

Go Girl
Wow Lucy your job sounds so much fun you go girl(not to much fun with the rugby players though) and enjoy every minute of it. Seriously i know that its not all fun and hope that all who are out there make a difference to the peoples lives hats off to you all.Lots of Love and take care. Tina xxxx

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb