Warmbaths in Bela Bela on my way to Soweto


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
December 14th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shady ImpalaShady ImpalaShady Impala

Hiding from the Sun and Us

Airport Pal



Continuing with my sinchronicity adventures, on the shuttle to the bed and breakfast, I met a young Canadian of Pakistani descent who was working in Dubai and was on a quick, get-away week in Johannesburg. We got along marvellously and ended up going out for pool and beers.

The next morning, he asked if I would join him in Sun City, about two hours away and where there was supposed to be more happening. I agreed on the name alone!
He said he had booked a big place and a bunch of his friends were going to be joining him in a couple days, so I could stay until then. There was also the possibility to see some animals nearby, too.
All in all, it seemed like a great plan and good company, which fit perfectly into my new motto:

Don't make any plans so I don't have to change them!



Roadmaps and Animals



We got a Jordanian driver to take us there from the hotel. He did not have a clue where we were going and when my friend pulled out the directions on his reservation confirmation, we were truly lost!

Luckily there was an old roadmap at my feet
Heart to HeartHeart to HeartHeart to Heart

Ostriches Necking...
in the back of the car, and, while they were asking an equally clueless gas station attendant, I sleuthed and found out where it was we were headed, to Warmbaths or near there. However, the instructions said to go to Bela Bela!

Very confusing! My friend was not quite convinced after a lengthy study of the map and the written instructions until I pulled out my little compass. North seems to help a lot!

Eventually, we realised that Warmbaths had been renamed Bela Bela and not all the signs reflected this yet, let alone an old map...

Sun City was 200 km in another direction.

Our place was beautiful and removed from anywhere except for bush and bad roads. The nearest town was almost 30 km away and there was no bus or train service to Joburg.

Our Bungalow was quaint and tiny, with a double bed and a sofa-bed, not much privacy or space. Two young guys can rough it for a couple nights, so, no worries, I thought!

We saw a bunch of animals hiding in the shade, Impala deer and bulls (so different from another!), Ostriches, Warthogs, Zebra's, and others, on
WarthogWarthogWarthog

On your knees, the grass is greener!
our little safari the next morning, even though they were avoiding us and the hot sun.

I can't wait to come back with a bunch of friends and go on a week-long safari adventure!
I will be back in 2010 for the World Cup.

Back at the bungalow, he said I should leave as he needed his privacy... Quite a change from the fast talking, friendly guy from the morning and previous days!

As the lodge was fully booked, I had to pay a driver 80 euros to get back to Joburg... Muchas gracias!

Another Learning Adventure for the records...where animals treat you better than humans, sometimes.

Care to join me for a Soweto Tour...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Rhino RunningRhino Running
Rhino Running

Wasn't me!


21st December 2007

lovely
hmmmm to see wild animals in the wild where they belong must be quite something. Maybe I;ll get there in 2010. Thanks for blogging, it helps transport me out of the busy Phoenix city life :) Love, tu hermana
23rd December 2007

seguro que la vida te protegió de peores momentos con esa egoista persona
me encanta poder leer sobre tu maravilloso viaje! es un lujo, gracias por compartirlo... y las fotos suman y suman. me alegro de que el contacto con esa persona fuera breve e intenso. menuda aventura! he leído que ya estás en Goa. te deseo un buenísimo reencuentro con tu mami. sigo "cantando" por ello! te quiero enviar un regalo, ya me darás alguna dirección asap. que continúes tu viaje lleno de luz y vida. besos de paz. Te

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb