Out of Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
May 17th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sawubona!
Woke up above Zambia.
It's my first time in the Southern Hemisphere and I did not have a passing-the-Equator ceremony... or maybe they had it while I was sleeping.
I was supposed to spend some 12 hours in Johannesburg's airport (it finally was 16 hours as there was some delay...), waiting for my connecting flight, but it wasn't to be.
After a few hours, having gone through the airport several times, I got to meet Douglas from Uganda who's been living in South Africa for more than 10 years. He was collecting someone from the airport and very kindly proposed to take me around a bit. So off we headed to Jo'burg and its very top end suburbs of Houghton and Sandton (said to be the continent's richest square mile), also to the not so well off Diepsloot and all the way to Pretoria and back.
And so, unexpectedly, it turned out to be a very good day indeed!
So, This Is Africa.
Salanikahle.
Oli



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb