Living in South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Grahamstown
February 6th 2010
Published: February 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Baboons on the HighwayBaboons on the HighwayBaboons on the Highway

These are some of the baboons that were on the highway in DeNordhoek
I am an American who has been living in South Africa for the past 7 plus years. I had always heard and seen nothing but horror stories about Africa and it's people. I never dreamed that one day I would be living in this beautiful country.

I met my now husband on the Internet, who is from the UK, but has been living in South Africa for over 30 years and has traveled the country quite a bit.

I am very impressed with the wildlife that actually roams the bush here. It is like none that you will see any place else. It is not unusual to see baboons or monkeys simply playing along the side of the roads here. We have seen elephants, that I can safely say, if I had put my hand out the window of the car, I would have been able to touch it. Zebras are the most beautiful creatures to see in their natural habitat, as is lions and warthogs. My eyes have seen more beautiful animals in the wild than I would ever want to see in the zoo.

Bird life, is abundant and it is nothing to hear or to
Close up of baboonsClose up of baboonsClose up of baboons

This is a closer view as they got closer to us
see an owl sitting on your fence post. This is truly a once in a lifetime opportunity that I have had during these 7+ years. I shall truly miss it, as we are selling our small farm and moving to the US.

We have what is called a smallholding farm of 18 1/2 acres and if I could box it all up and put it onto the container cargo ship and open it up and continue my life, I would not hesitate. South Africa is truly an amazing place, especially along the coastal areas.

Game farms are abundant here. People raise all sorts of animals for various reasons, but to actually see them in the wild is an experience that one shall never forget.

The people I have met while being in South Africa are so special. I have learned that people of all walks of life really can live side by side and learn to get along with one another. There are a total of 11 official languages here in South Africa. Me, well I can only speak my English and I have learned a tiny Xoshua, very tiny. I will always remember that the time
Elephant at AddoElephant at AddoElephant at Addo

This was only one of many elephants here in South Africa
I spent here in South Africa has been rewarding and educational.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

A Group of ElephantsA Group of Elephants
A Group of Elephants

This was a large group of elephants simply being themselves and paying no attention to the happenings around them.
Elephant EatingElephant Eating
Elephant Eating

This elephant was simply eating and grazing
Elephant on the RoadElephant on the Road
Elephant on the Road

This elephant was actually so close that I could have touched it with my hand, but my partner would not let me.
Elephants and WarthogElephants and Warthog
Elephants and Warthog

These were at the waterhole and this little warthog wanted to drink too.
Warthogs EatingWarthogs Eating
Warthogs Eating

The warthogs are really funny creatures. They roll in the mud, drink and then eat.
Talking ZebraTalking Zebra
Talking Zebra

The male zebra was actually moving his mouth as he was approaching the female as if he were talking. It was an amazing site to see.
Male and Female ZebraMale and Female Zebra
Male and Female Zebra

This is the most beautiful animal mating ritual. Words simply are not enough.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb