Surfing Elephants


Advertisement
Published: October 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

On August 27th, we took Tiffany for her first game drive in Addo National Park. This national park is famous for the number of elephants that you can see there. We found this watering hole just in time to see a large herd of elephants walk up to drink. There were many females with a number of young babies with them. I later learned in a book that because the elephant gestation period is so long that a mom elephant can have more than one baby with her at a time. It was so cool to watch them drink. The really interesting part was seeing the babies nurse. The babies drink from the mother breast, or whatever they are called, that are located by the front armpit/leg area. I was so surprised to see that they did not have utters like other animals like cows, zebra ect.

From their we went to Jeffries Bay a small surf town. This town is world famous for its surfing, and pretty much it just felt like a beach bum town. I never went surfing, but I did have the intentions.

Instead, one night at 3 in the morning I had my friend Laurie, who lives in Canada, book me a ticket to Ohio. Plans change for me in a blink of an eye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb