Hello..


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi again! ... We've had an unexpected trip to Port Elizabeth so I can use the internet!!

Well weather over here has been changeable & we actually had rain the other which made a welcomed change to the constant glare of the sun!

This week I have been out with two researchers undertaking elephant research, in general looking at their behviour. So it's been nice to get close to the elephants ... the young one's are soo cute! Whilst I was out with this american researcher we went off road & came across two black rhino right in front of our 4x4. She is also carrying out research on them as little is known so that was exciting & luckily they didnt charge us lol! I may be able to do some of her research while she goes back to USA until April which will be taking fecal samples from certain individuals .. I would have to get to ID the elephants too from a family tree log they have (there's about 300 elephants & 7 different groups) so that would be good!

I also went on a night game drive, but after being here working on the park I have already seen most of the animals but a quick update i've also seen .. buffalo, eland, bush hares, spring hares (really cute & jump like kangaroos I want one lol), black-backed jackal ... can't remember what I said I saw last time but i've seen most from the main camp now. We are hoping to get chance to go across to the other sections of the park soon so will get to see other species then.

We went to a reptile centre yesterday & the man who runs it is a bit of a steve irwin, putting posionous snakes in his mouth! He also kept handing them to us too, we didn't have much choice, all good fun though. There was green mambas, cobras, adders, python, and anaconda to mention most. I also touched a nile crocodile (only small tone though) and he had some birds of prey & we could get in the enclosures with them too.

Well as I didn't realise we would get chance to go on internet I haven't bought my camera along but hopefully on friday I'll get chance again & then will download pics for you all.

I think I forgot to mention the the day before I was due to catch my flight to SA the man who I have been organising this with was wondering if I would be interested in a 'field technician' position in Kwazulu natal which is further east along the cape & nearer Kruger park .. it would be from around 14th June to 25th August, so my plans may very well change as I could have probs over here with visa. I might end up pit stopping in Cyprus for a break until coming back for that but I need to aquire more info on it 1st. All I know is that they have been contracted in to assist 'Operation Wallacea' (which I 've heard of when at uni) who are doing biodiversity studies there. There will be many students (some PhD) from around the world, UK, Australia etc.. undertaking various studies. When I find out more I'll let you know but at least that would be something on my CV ... but as said i'll have to see what arrangements can be made, I wish i'd known about it before i left lol.

Well gotta go, I hope everyone is well, love to all & thanks to those who have sent messages to me, much appreciated ... it can be hard some days spending alot of time with these volunteers, they are nice but sometimes just miss my friends!. Take care everyone, keep smiling & hope to be in touch soon ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb