Senegalese Hospitality!


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
June 14th 2009
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Salif, BaidouSalif, BaidouSalif, Baidou

great guys, wonderful hospitality!
Wow! Unbelievable hospitality! What can I say about Senegalese hospitality?! I had my second meal at Salif’s home in two days. Salif’s pops called me “mon fils”. I still can’t get over all of it!

I also went to another soccer game with Salif’s friend Malik. At least there were some goals (2-0) this time. Earlier Malik had invited me to practice with his soccer team, which I had figured was of a ‘beer league’ caliber. It turns out that it’s a very good thing I turned him down, as I later found out that this team plays in Senegal’s Division 3 (semi-pro) League and furthermore Malik also plays on another team that last year drew the Senegalese national team.

Salif also hooked me up with a connection in the Casamanche, where I’m off to tomorrow. Meeting Salif, Malik, Baidu and the rest really changed my Dakar experience. I could not be more grateful. White people are all a**holes in comparison, even the Noofs.

As for diving one more dive tomorrow and then level 1. A bit of a disagreement over the price, as I’m getting a bit screwed, but at least I’ll get the certificate. Le Doyen is not too keen on diving (claims he has a sore leg), only on taking my money.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb