Home and Family and Feelings of Community


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
July 2nd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Twelve Foot WallsTwelve Foot WallsTwelve Foot Walls

With frosted plastic on the gates. You can see the silhouette of the guard behind the gate.
Riding on the bus returning to Kigali from Kampala, Jacintha and I were talking about what we had done in the week and what we would do upon our return when I realized that I did not think about returning to Kigali, but of returning home. I realized that in the short two months that I have been here, I already think of Rwanda and the Anderson property as my home. A wise man once said, “do not make your home in a place, but in your head. That way you will never be lacking a home. Unless, of course, you lose your head.”
And since Kigali is now my home, then the people living here; Papa Jean, Faustin, Eric, Fidel, Gad, etc., they are my family. Jacintha also has become like a sister to me. These are the people I eat with, talk and laugh with, tell stories too, listen to stories from, play soccer with, travel with and work with.
There is no stronger example of this than Papa Jean. He is truly not called “Papa” for nothing. Jean is the father of every worker and every visitor here. he is the sole reason why I was not curled
Its all about the smileIts all about the smileIts all about the smile

Papa Jean is the awesomeness. There is no other like him.
up in the fetal position, crying my eyes out for the first month that I was here. He put me to work, gave me things to do and showed me around the city so that I could become independent and be able to shop and travel on my own. He also does not see the color of my skin, and treats me like everyone else. As Jacintha said “if he does he sees it as something to protect, not exploit.” He is generous and kind and I couldn’t ask for a more caring and helpful “Papa”.
This all reflects the differences between here and North America. The people here are a much more tightly knit community, working and living together, helping each other through adversity (especially after the genocide), and showing never-ending diligence and perseverance. In Canada you could live next door to someone for years and never know them. In Rwanda you know everyone and they know you, and when someone hits hard times everyone helps out.
However, this is truer in the villages than in the cities. In the cities, Kigali especially, there is a much larger gap between poor and rich people. For
PerseverancePerseverancePerseverance

This lady works in and around the clinic, cleaning, cooking and just helping out. She is an extremely diligent worker and probably does more work than anyone there. She has gone through some hard times too. If you look at her neck, you will notice a huge lump there. She had a goiter (due to lack of iodine in the diet), but the doctor she went to didn't know what it was and tried to cut it off (sans anesthetic). So the huge goiter lump turned into a huge scar tissue lump. But look at the smile. That is perseverance. That is joy.
example there is a man who owns several shopping malls in Kigali, as well as a few import/export businesses and other ventures, who owns a 6 acre property with an 87,000 ft² mansion which is surrounded by a twelve foot wall, in the middle of a poor sector of town. Jacintha has often wondered how the man can sleep at night in his luxurious mansion when he is surrounded by abject poverty. When I look at the twelve foot walls and the frosted plastic that covers the gates, I feel that he must indeed have trouble sleeping and wants to hide himself from unhappy, envious and disdainful looks.
Be that as it may, when I wake up in the morning and watch the sun rise and look at the world around me, I am awestruck by the beauty and I feel a profound sense of belonging, of being where I want to be. I wish that I could stay here for many years or forever, working and helping and becoming one with the people whose joy and perseverance inspires me every day and is an example that every stressed out, unsatisfied, workaholic rich North American (or any North American) should
DilligenceDilligenceDilligence

Here we have an 8 year old girl who takes care of her two younger siblings (4 year old sister, 1 1/2 year old brother) all day every day while her parents work to support the family. Again, the smile gets you.
pay attention to and try to emulate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

AwestrikingAwestriking
Awestriking

Morning on Mt. Rebero. This is home.
Another little bit of HomeAnother little bit of Home
Another little bit of Home

This bug flew into the house and was promptly dubbed the "Oh My Jesus!" bug by Jacintha.


3rd July 2007

Slightly green
Wow Kev! The adventures you have had! I can't believe you have swam and kayaked in the Nile! Wow! I am glad that you survived all the fun of kayaking. And you saw Auntie Nancy and the girls! I am SO envious. Keep having fun, doing all the good work you are and write all about it! I miss you so much!
3rd July 2007

Welcome Home
Dear Kevin, I'm glad that you are happy in Rwanda. It is a great feeling to finally feel a part of a place. I hope your last couple of months go well. Say hello to the Andersons for us when they arrive. Wish Jacintha a good trip home for us. ....Daddy

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb