Rwanda 1


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Province de L'Ouest
January 31st 2016
Published: March 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So there are some interesting parts of Rwanda. Hugest change from Uganda to Rwanda was that the automobiles drive on the right-hand side of the road! WOA!!! That blew my mind. The rest of the places Ive been in Africa have been driving on the left…Second biggest change was the language. Francophone. Whaaaaa….French??? I thought that was only in the western parts of Africa! Cool! So I was on my way to a place called Red Rocks in Rwanda and yet again I didn’t have all the pieces of information on exactly how to get from Lake Bunyonyi to Musanze. But it was a fun adventure J hehehe…I took a car from the lake to Kabale town with Miha and Jane to say goodbye, another car (Toyota camry or corolla) with 7 other people from Kabale to Kisoro. That’s right…8 people in a sedan…Then a boda boda from town to the Uganda/Rwanda border. Then I walked across and never had my bag checked at all lol. Caught a mini bus called a matatu from the border to Musanze town where I was the entertainment for most passengers and then a moto taxi to Red Rocks which was on the outskirts of town.. Waaaaaay too cool of a place. This huuuge camping area had many fun little quips around like statues with stories about how this guy had to sit down because he was carrying too much banana beer and had to lighten his load basically til he was hammered enough to pause for good. Lol. There were canoes hanging in trees, painted eeeevvverything, and a dog named Rocky Bob (after Red Rocks and Bob Marley). Such a chill vibe and I was ready to help out in any way I could. The resident DJ Firoz was already telling me about needing help building extra bathrooms by the weekend because there was a wedding party of 300 that I was cooking food for…what….what the hell…the only stipulation I had on joining another volunteer project was that I didn’t want to be cooking….now I am doing things like building a toilet facility aaaaand plan for a 300 top…AKKKKKK!!!!!! Luckily there is the common theme of miscommunication amongst business type people I have come across here in Africa. That means that no, I would have nothing to do with the wedding party what-so-ever. Buuuuut I escaped the toilet duties too...Harriet is the lady in charge here but her brother Greg runs a tour company in town and kind of over sees the business aspects of Red Rocks. Soooooo….i learned from him that I was there to turn the nonexistent kitchen into a full blown Mexican restaurant. WTF….FML and all the other acronyms!!! Oh well…I guess its what I signed up for. Sigh. So fist task at hand was inspecting the kitchen. Well there was a refrigerator so that was an improvement!!!! And there was an electric oven that worked sometimes!!!! We are off to a good start! So the training began with making chapatti tacos with rice, guacamole, beans, chips (thick cut French fries), chapatti, shredded cabbage, and what was supposed to be ground beef. We had a kilo of mince for the numbers we thought were coming=8. When two hours before the guests arrived the numbers shot up to 25. We sent our loving matriarch aptly named Momma Baby to get some beef and a few other things necessary. So when she arrived 20 minutes before service with 2 kilos I was super excited…until I opened the package….2 kilos in one piece….I really had no idea wtf but the TIA feelings kicked in and I just started chopping. I minced my own damn beef til there was enough to feed everyone and made all that shit happen from 2 gas burners and a charcoal stove and two workers who had never made any of this food before. BOOM! This German group of people were pretty happy with my performance and Idk if it fully hit the owners of the establishment the accomplishment that just happened, but I was happy too. J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb