Project in Nigeria sept 2010


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Logos
September 14th 2010
Published: September 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Project in Nigeria




13th of September 2010 my bag is prepared and I am ready to fly to Nigeria.
This is a reclamation project one of 3 phases. The project is close to the branch office and that is also where we operate from. Working in a branch office has big advances because the people are already known with the region and facilities are well organized.

In the evening, when it was already dark we landed. But my first impression of Nigeria was busy and disorganized in front of the airport. There are too many cars for the bad roads so for transport a long time has to be calculated. When arriving in the apartment there was some good spaghetti and I meet my college again. Together we will guide this project and prepare all arrangements.

On Wednesday we had a good bye dinner because one colleague went on leave. For this we went on dinner in a Brazilian restaurant with very good meet and Caparinha.
The food is good and until now I have seen no reason to feel unsafe at all.



lacked time our enjoyed 😊 my stay to much. So now an update about my time here and how I will miss the people smiling always (a good example for most of us Dutchies 😊))) Last month there came a huge crane barge with a 800 tons crane in the port, soon the nature adapted to this, when the cook finishes his meal more than 20 birds of prey (I think in Dutch, Rode Wouw) circling the air and performing the most amazing air show I have ever seen.

In the weeks I meet more and more expats living around and on a Sunday morning I had a nice run with a group of them, one Danish man and his Malaysian wife and their son, a south African man and his daughter and me, their condition was better than mine but it was very interesting to meet them. Running in Lagos is a complete new adventure with the armed guards around and plenty of locals that call you "White man" in NL this would be seen as racism but here its a positive manner to say "hello friend" some times I stopped running and meet with them, they played a game in an old wooden box with iron nails and two balls but I could not figure out who won except on their faces).

Now my last three days before I go to Iceland, I feel that all the negative information that is spread about Nigeria is not the whole story....its worth to find out if your interested in cultures and my job made it possible for me, I love it!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

our project carour project car
our project car

we have a cool driver that does not like traficjams and that is good :)
breakfast breakfast
breakfast

in the appartment
Van Oord Lagos beach houseVan Oord Lagos beach house
Van Oord Lagos beach house

During a day off we can relax here and have a BBQ
Local speedboat Local speedboat
Local speedboat

Dont look at the large details :P
me happy, me happy,
me happy,

The best thing of Nigeria, the beach, BBQ and nice smiles


17th September 2010

Dag Harold, hoe gaat het met je? Geniet van je reis en de avonturen! Gr. Nathalie
24th September 2010
Tuc Tuc in Nigeria

Hello, Harold! Sometimes I watch your photos! I wish you all the best! I hope you are good...) Hello from Russia)
23rd October 2010
some houses and shops

Wauw
Ongelofelijk... Wat een andere cultuur!! Lijkt me enorm interessant om alles te zien en erover te leren... Mooie foto's. Veel succes met het werk en geniet ervan! Het is echt bijzonder om zoveel van de wereld te zien. Liefs!
2nd November 2010

Hello Nadya
Long time it has been that we have been in contact. I am happy you wrote me and I hope your fine. I did try to send you an mail but your account was not working...:( How is Russia and did you finish school?
26th November 2010

ahhh! I have forgotten my password ))))))) I am fine! this is last year of my study, now I am working my last progect for degree certificate) Image! In Russia one day is snow and other day is rain) Crazy Russia as usual!!! ahah Your photos are great! I like! Ciao) Nadya!
21st February 2011

You know your always welkom for a chat
What kind of password did you forgot? from your mail? Hope not :) How is life, next week i leave Nigeria behind me and I go for a new adventure :P Big hugg

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb