AFRICA AFRICA


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
December 12th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hangin out with the CheetahsHangin out with the CheetahsHangin out with the Cheetahs

They even licked me!
Hellooo
I am in this tiny Namibian village by the name of Rundu on the Angolan border. It is very very African. There are tons of cows walking around and the majority of the people in the surrounding areas live in mud and wood huts. It's really amazing, I mean I lived in SA for most of my life and I have never seen anything quite like this. I feel like I am seeing 'Africa' in a whole new light. We actually had a sunset cruise last night with a few beers and made an illegal border crossing into Angola. CRAZY, to think that I have now been to Angola. I never imagined going to that country, ever. Let me see, this is going to be a bit of a list of things that I have done but that is only because the internet is so rarely available in these here parts. After Swakopmund we spent a night in Spitzkoppe. Unreal, so so beautiful. It is an ancient Bushman site comprising these massive rocks that seem wholly out of place on the Namibian flat savanna. The views were unreal. We slept under the stars next to the burning coals of the
Seals GaloreSeals GaloreSeals Galore

Cape Seal Colony, also the landing point of the Portuguese in 1498. Millions of fricken seals!!
fire. From there we went to this Cheetah Park where we spent a night, got to pat and play with some Cheetahs as well as see some wild ones be fed. Really cool place, they save Cheetahs that have become orphans or ones that farmers catch stealing sheep. We also visited a Himba tribe. Quite something, they lived in mud huts and herded goats and cattle. In my opinion it was as original as it could be. Very little outside influence. We sat in the mud hut with the queen and snorted a bit of local snuff, pretty cool stuff. These people were really amazing. They looked after Himba orphans from parents that had died of AIDS or other causes. From there we went to Etosha National Park. A 22 000 sq KM park. We spent two nights in the park, beautiful place. The first night we climbed the old watch tower and saw sunset with an incredible thunder storm in the background. Let me see, we saw quite a bit but not too much because it was the rainy season. On the first day we did see a pride of 9 lions, that was incredible. The Alpha Male was
Hallo!Hallo!Hallo!

Typical Namibian Reception Office.
massive. That night I saw a herd of 13 Elephants come into the waterhole to drink and later about 7 Rhinos came to drink as well. We also saw a lot of giraffes(my new favourite animal), hyenas, zebra, springbok, tons of jackals that cruise around your tents at night, impalas, dik diks and some more stuff. We kept trying to see a leopard but could not spot any. Otherwise all is well, the heat is becoming a bit unbearable as it saps all of your energy. But I am in high spirits and really enjoying this trip within a trip. I love camping, it has been awesome getting dirty and putting your tent up every night. My favourite part is sitting around the camp fire at night with a cold Windhoek as well as in the mornings sitting with my hot cup of Rooibos tea and a rusk in the other hand.
Have to run, no time as per usual.
cheers
LPW




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SpitzkoppeSpitzkoppe
Spitzkoppe

Breathtaking!
Himba girlsHimba girls
Himba girls

Two lovely Himba girls.


Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb