My Weekend in Tangier!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Tangier
February 7th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

picture 2picture 2picture 2

my friends & i on the beach in tangier
Apologies for not writing for a while; I've been so busy lately its crazy!
Last weekend a group of my friends & I decided to take a weekend trip to Tangier- a city on the Mediterranean Sea. So after class on Friday we hopped in a cab to Meknes (a town maybe 40ish minutes away) & proceeded to make our way to Tangier by train. The ride was so much better than my initial train ride into Fes; we took pictures, danced silly, & had a lot of fun just hanging out. By the time we pulled into the train station in Tangier it was really late. We met two more friends at the station & set off to find a place to sleep. Unfortunately our cab driver dropped us off at the wrong place & left us at this rather shady part of the old medina. Luckily, a man came by & offered to help us, & we found a great hotel for about 150 dirhams a night. By the time we got settled in it was nearmy midnight & we were starving, so we grabbed a late night dinner at a nice lebanese restaurant a few blocks away. The
picture 1picture 1picture 1

stormy weather in tangier
food was good- but not as good as Savoury Maza in Scranton!
The next day we wet out pretty early (for me anyway), to walk around & see the sights. Irene really wanted to check out the beach, so after breakfast we did exactly that. My friend Hailey had an awesome camera & got some amazing shots of the beach that I'll be sure to post soon. The rest of the day was spent shopping & browsing through the many, many shops that Tangier had to offer. We also took a tour of the old medina & got some amazing shots of that as well. We also spent an hour or so watching coverage of the political uprising in Egypt on Al-Jazeera. The footage we saw was so chaotic; I'd hate to be caught in the middle of it. I really hope the mess stops soon...
We decided to check out the bar down the street from our hotel after dinner that night. It was a lot of fun just having a couple of drinks & listening to the music with my friends. The only downside was that the room became so hazy from all the smokers that my hair
picture 3picture 3picture 3

me & irene on the beach in tangier
smelled like an ashtray the next day.
All in all it was an awesome weekend. I can't wait to see what tops it! The only downside was that the weather in Tangier was awful; every ten minute it would rain. The stop. The sun would come out, & then it rained again. It was like mother nature couldn't make up her mind!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

picture 4picture 4
picture 4

a camel on the beach!
picture 5picture 5
picture 5

the old medina in tangier


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb