21, The North, Farewell Morocco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

SleepSleepSleep

Not the Andy Warhol movie, but instead a short segment on Roger's napping abilities. Right before this I found an Arabic class standing outside of the room I left Roger in. I walked in to find Roger passed out on a line of chairs.
First off, I would like to give a warm welcome to Peggy Thompson. Her daughter, Emily, joined us in Morocco two weeks ago (around the last time I updated) and Mrs. Thompson found the blog through googling UVa and Morocco. Thanks for being a fan.

Also, thank you to everyone who has sent me messages over the course of these six weeks. Sorry I have not responded (the blog website is strange about that) but I appreciate your messages.

Tomorrow is our last full day in Morocco. Since I left off we have spent a weekend of service at a circus school for street children, heard discourses from the advisor to the prime minister and an author of a book we read, went to a Morocco-Togo world cup qualifier game and probably spent the best weekend trip in the north of the country, Tanger and Chefchauon.

Oh, and I turned 21.

Until next time when I will be uploading some photos from Rome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

SleepSleep
Sleep

Close up.
SleepSleep
Sleep

And we move to McDonald's for...more sleep. And to meet Gifford! He had been in Morocco for 10 days and met him at McDo for an afternoon with the guys.
The BarbershopThe Barbershop
The Barbershop

You cannot get a haircut at The Barbershop. However, you can get the cheapest beer in Rabat, 13 dm for a Stork. Roger and I found it one day when I need a restroom on the way to the medina and we have been back a few times. We call it The Barbershop because it just has that sense of a bunch of guys sitting around shooting the breeze.
Rachel and Jane LathamRachel and Jane Latham
Rachel and Jane Latham

Wednesday night out on the town. Rachel, JL and I went to a nightclub with our host sister, Ihmane.
Le Camp de FeuLe Camp de Feu
Le Camp de Feu

The guys. The night before our trip to the north we spent the evening at Mme Bargach's for a camp fire. It was a kind of a birthday celebration too.
Le Camp de FeuLe Camp de Feu
Le Camp de Feu

In case the picture does not do it justice, Mme Bargach has BEAUTIFUL beachfront property.
Le Camp de FeuLe Camp de Feu
Le Camp de Feu

The girls.
Campfire songsCampfire songs
Campfire songs

What would a beach campfire be without a guitar.
I Love FolkloreI Love Folklore
I Love Folklore

This magnet was amazing. I never knew two Moroccan's could love folklore so much. Clearly I regret not buying this.
Another Man TourismAnother Man Tourism
Another Man Tourism

This time only the air conditioning was broken.
Walk in field of dreamsWalk in field of dreams
Walk in field of dreams

JL and Christie in the field of sunflowers on the side of the gas station.
AssilahAssilah
Assilah

A town on the way to Tanger. White and blue buildings with some nice artisan shops.
AssilahAssilah
Assilah

Roger, me and Dylan.
AssilahAssilah
Assilah

Fishing boats.
The Caves of HerculesThe Caves of Hercules
The Caves of Hercules

It's a bummer this picture won't rotate. This is a hole in the cave on the Atlantic that resembles...Richard Nixon. No, not really, it actually resembles Africa.
Raise the Roof!Raise the Roof!
Raise the Roof!

Me and Hercules throwing up ten for gods.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb