Hitting the road


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
September 9th 2005
Published: September 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Salaams

In a day or 2 Ill leave Rabat. Plan is to go to MEKNES , a small town just before Fes which is called the cultural heart of Morocco. From there onto to FES for a REAL taste of Moroccan Culture. Been to the Tunisian Consul and they assure me that I can get a VISA issued at the Airport. Now I have to find some cheap flights, since the border between Morocco and Algeria is seemingly closed.

In the internet cafe to charge the camera which died last night when i wanted to take pics of the medina when busy . I also need to take a pic of the main road on my way out.

I changed the reolution of the pics so now they canty be uploaded since they are too small. I thought i will save on download time as they files initially were huge. Seems it is back to the Huge files ::: Some useless information for anyone interested. I am getting used to these keyboards.

Saturday
Woke up on Saturday Morning ,actually feeling lazy. At 11:35 that changed. I had a feeling for adventure. Packed my bag? remembered I had
MOROCCO.RABAT.MEDINAMOROCCO.RABAT.MEDINAMOROCCO.RABAT.MEDINA

MEDINA in RABAT
to take some pictures of the Main Road in Rabat so I left the camera close to the top. Left my hotel and headed for the train station, just down the road. Decided that I ll leave for Meknes. Bought the ticket and waited for an hour to get on to the right train , at least in the right direction. ONWARD TOWARDS FES.
Got the last pictures of RABAT , but this computer will not upload them. I ll have to try again from another internet cafe.

On my way to FES I remember thinking how strange it seemed to be travelling alone. Now I realise ALL of you are travelling with me. I really am BLESSED. This for those that requested fitting into my bag. At least you are all in my camera bag and I did bring you all along for the adventure.


I arrived 3 hours later in MEKNES. A town nestled in the RIF mountains. Found a decent place to stay and thought I ll relax for a while. NON OF THAT , straight out into the town to see the sights and get a feeling for the place. Found the ENORMOUS
MOROCCO.MEKNESMOROCCO.MEKNESMOROCCO.MEKNES

Bab al Mansour
OLD gates of the city.(bab al Mansour). Bab is gate in arabic. and my french is also getting better. Merci Buku.

Salaams. Aur revoir


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MOROCCO.MEKNESMOROCCO.MEKNES
MOROCCO.MEKNES

MEKNES. Bab al Mansour
MOROCCO.MEKNES.BABalMansour.courtyardMOROCCO.MEKNES.BABalMansour.courtyard
MOROCCO.MEKNES.BABalMansour.courtyard

MEKNES. Bab al Mansour coutyard


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb