Todra Gorge


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Todra Gorge
April 14th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gorge IIIGorge IIIGorge III

Love this pic...the hotel is just tucked in behind the large crack and to the left...very cool...
The time had come to leave the beautiful and serene desert/Merzouga and continue the journey. With the help of Edir from Chez Julia I piled into a grand taxi and made my way back to Rissani in hopes of catching transport to Tinerhir and my destination of the Todra Gorge.

Rissani, wasn't looking forward to going back there. Fortunately as we arrived there was another traveler in the back of the taxi that was asking about Tinerhir as well, we hooked up and with a united front we scooped another grand taxi to ourselves and made our escape....

Nicolas, from Chile, is a great guy and it was a lot of fun having someone to hang around with for a couple of days. In fact we became roommates as well as accommodation at the Gorge proved to be virtually non-existent, think we got the last room!

I had heard that the Todra Gorge was beautiful but the word really didn't do it justice: it is quite spectacular. Nicolas and I poked around the vicinity of the hotel the first afternoon we arrived and then did an amazing four hour hike in the gorge the following day, the scenery
N&JN&JN&J

Great pic...
was mind-blowing!

Made it back to the hotel (des Roches) and while waiting to see if we would have a room that night (ensha'llaah!-and one became available) the guy at the front desk arranged a taxi to take us to one of the local Hammams for a good scrub (badly needed after the hike!). We went for the whole package-wash and massage-and I don't think I have ever felt that clean when it was done, highly recommend it. I would probably skip the "massage" next time though, it was more of a beating than anything!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

TizguiTizgui
Tizgui

as seen arriving from the fantastic hike...
Gorge IGorge I
Gorge I

Main road in the gorge right outside the hotel...
Hotel les RochesHotel les Roches
Hotel les Roches

Stayed here, really cool backing right onto the Gorge...
Hike IHike I
Hike I

Start of the four hour hike...incredible..
Goats!Goats!
Goats!

Herd of goats along the trail...
JeffJeff
Jeff

On top of the world! And check out those sexy legs...
Hike IIIHike III
Hike III

Coming over a crest and seeing the town of Tizgui...too bad it was a little hazy because the contrast in the colours was spectacular...
Hike IVHike IV
Hike IV

Making our way down to Tizgui...we got a little lost at one point only to come across a little boy just hanging out (you can see him bottom left in the pic)...he pointed us in the right direction...
Nicolas IINicolas II
Nicolas II

Taking a break...
Gorge IVGorge IV
Gorge IV

On the road back to Tinerhir...
Gorge VGorge V
Gorge V

Again, absolutely beautiful...
Gorge VIIGorge VII
Gorge VII

The contrasts in this area really blew me away...


10th April 2010

Beautiful pictures
Hello! Great photos of Todra Gorge! I've been researching the place because I'm planning on going in June this year. Can you please tell me if it's possible to park my car there and make a 3-4 hour hiking loop back to my car? I would love to be in this area. Thanks! ~Stephanie
13th April 2010

Parking
Thanks for the kind words Stephanie, glad you liked the pics...I didn't have a vehicle in Morocco but I don't think you should have too many problems finding a place to park your car. It was busy up at the far end of the Gorge where we stayed, but I think there was a little parking lot at the foot of the trail we were on...similarly the trail ended at a small town south of where we were staying that had some parking. The trail we were on started just after the hotel Les Roches where we stayed, and you can see it in the first photo sort of centre and heading out to the right (hopefully it's still the same name, the hotel is actually just tucked in behind that large crack in the photo, and we hiked up to that vantage point in very short time). It was about 4 hours, and we got a little lost so see if you can find a map...otherwise just sticking to the road will give you some fantastic sites...Check also to see what the weather will be doing at that time of year; my gal was there in October and the gorge was flooded, she couldn't get all the way in...Enjoy your trip and any other questions please let me know! Jeff
7th February 2011
Gorge VI

the mount u see, my home
nice sight, from this place, i can see all my father home near the mount u see, it s still an amazing place thanks for this wonderful vision
7th February 2011

Shukran!
Thanks and glad you liked the pics...it was an amazing place to visit, absolutely beautiful, hope to return someday...

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb