Arrival to Morroco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz
October 5th 2022
Published: October 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

After a very short visit to Canada to celebrate mom, Aunt Emmy and Heather's birthdays, I headed out for my trip.
The bus from London to Toronto airport was uneventful, other than a very smelly (BO) bus driver that I had the misfortune of sitting behind. I tried putting some of my coconut lipbalm above my upper lip to mask the smell, but it didn't help.
The bus got me to Terminal 1 almost 3 hours before my flight. Plenty of time to get to terminal 3, clear security and wait for my flight. The flight departed 10:30pm on Oct 3, so I knew I wouldn't be getting much sleep.
I tried to nap on the plane, but didn't have much luck. My first flight was to Gatwick, in London. I needed to clear immigration (it was all automated, just self-scanned the passport and walked through the 'nothing to declare' line without talking to immigration), then go to the other terminal for security and my next flight.
I signed in to wifi, and figured out where Monica was so we could meet. She had been in England and Ireland the last few weeks, so she was caught up already from travel and jetlag.
We grabbed a bite to eat, then made our way to the gate for the Morroco flight. That one went smoothly too. By the time it arrived in Morroco at 4pm local time Oct 4 (5 hrs ahead of Canadian time), I was feeling pretty exhausted.
We got local SIM cards, exchanged a bit of money, and then got picked up and taken to our Airbnb, close to the airport. It's a lovely 2 bedroom apartment at a golf course that Monica booked. Super quiet, perfect for getting my body clock adjusted. We had a little time out by the pool, then I went to bed by 9pm, and slept through to 10am.
Refreshed, I found Monica by the pool, and we made plans. We went for a walk to a park and a mall with grocery store, and picked up a few things for tonight and tomorrow morning. Then we relaxed by the pool awhile. Late afternoon we took a walk in the other direction, a more real view of life here.
We came back to the apartment, had a glass of Morrocan wine together, and got our stuff back organized, as we head out early morning for our desert trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb