In the Sahara - Near Chinguetti


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania » Adrar » Chinguetti
May 31st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Camel Trek 2 13 secs
Camel Trek 1Camel Trek 1Camel Trek 1

Riding a camel is not all that comfortable...
So the trip in the desert has been going reasonably well. Not exactly what I wanted but at least I am seeing beautiful dunes and oasis. Tonight, my third night outside on the dunes and it seems like the best place yet. Last night was shitty as I was next to the town and in the open. My God is it hot during the day. I spend 12 and 5 pm at the Oasis reading (I just finished Margret Atwood’s “Oryx and Crake” --- it’s very good) and drinking water. Actually I have two guides --- I feel like a true colonial overlord. I was somewhat uncomfortable about this at first but I’m getting used to it. There’s plenty to eat --- last night we had camel stew and bread cooked in the sand. The stew was tasty and filling. Also I had a shower today (sort of, a bath actually). My water purifier seems to work well --- hopefully!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Camel's none too happy...The Camel's none too happy...
The Camel's none too happy...

not the nicest animals in the world, but very durable!
On the dunes...On the dunes...
On the dunes...

reminds me of being at sea...
Bread cook in the sand...Bread cook in the sand...
Bread cook in the sand...

actually it's really good!
In the Oasis!In the Oasis!
In the Oasis!

Nice reprieve from the 50+ degree weather!
My two guides...My two guides...
My two guides...

Don't think that two were necessary, but it all worked out.
More DesertMore Desert
More Desert

Through the Sahara


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb