Off to Chingetti


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania » Adrar » Chinguetti
May 29th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ChingettiChingettiChingetti

The 7th Holiest city in Islam (or so I was told...)
First some reflections on the pick-up ride yesterday. A once in a lifetime experience. I stress ONCE. However, it was very cool despite being somewhat hellish. So yesterday I decided to take a six day camel excursion with a young guy (Evoku) from Chingetti. Once we finally got to Chingetti (blown tire on the truck) a French woman gave me some good info on Senegal. Later her Burkinabe friend gave me info about Burkina Faso so I can stay at his house --- how unbelievably friendly since he has no idea who I am.

Staying with Evoku’s family which includes his 18 year old wife and two children, as well as a large extended family. I’m supposed to go to Oudane but that plan got shot due to oil exploration (?). Also there’s a problem with hiring the camel, so we wont leave for another ten more hours --- I hope this is the last f**k up! Also, I watched “24” and “Law & Order SVU”. Slept outside and was awoken in the morning by a goat stepping on me!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Evoku and his YOUNG familyEvoku and his YOUNG family
Evoku and his YOUNG family

His wife told me she was 18...
Evoku's family's houseEvoku's family's house
Evoku's family's house

many children all over...
Chingetti 2Chingetti 2
Chingetti 2

more of the old city...


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb