7 Hours on the back of a pickup - Sahara


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania » Adrar » Atar
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the back of Pick-upOn the back of Pick-upOn the back of Pick-up

Seven + hours through the Sahara in the middle of the day... a ONCE in a lifetime experience
Wow, I’m exhausted!! Yesterday did little - Mathias and I tried to get some beer at the end of the night, but the only place (Novotel) seemed far too pricey. Today, after trying to exchange my pounds sterling, I said good bye to Mathias and grabbed a ride to Atar. 1500 UM seemed to be a good price, except for the fact that there were seven of us (including two paratroopers) in the bed of a tiny pick-up truck for seven+ hours. OH GOD IT WAS HOT! Also an Islamist tried to convert me. Islamist: “do you know where all non-Muslims go?” Me: “Somewhere that’s even hotter than here”. He seemed to find it funny. In Atar at Bab Sahara. Bed. Sweet bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

On the back of Pick-up 2On the back of Pick-up 2
On the back of Pick-up 2

My traveling companions...paratroopers and Muslims trying to convert me...
Oh god! Am I exhausted!Oh god! Am I exhausted!
Oh god! Am I exhausted!

Arrival in Atar... 7 + hours later


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb