last year, this time


Advertisement
Mali's flag
Africa » Mali
December 18th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

MontrealMontrealMontreal

After leaving Matane, we spent a night just outside Montreal before leaving for the airport.
When I went to Mali I decided I would keep a journal. I knew that I wouldn't have internet access so I thought that if I took everything down on paper I could transcribe it up here upon my return. I kind of forgot about it for a while.

This past week I was volunteering with Canada World Youth, helping facilitate a re-orientation session for a couple of groups who just returned from Mali. One group had lived in Karadie, the same village I did my program in. Before I started the presentation with another CWY alumni, a girl came up to me and said she recognized me from the photos in my blog, which she had found before her program and read. I couldn't believe it, I didn't even know it was still up. And then she asked me if my name was Sali (The Malian name my host family gave to me during my exchange) and said that people in Karadie asked about me. I was so touched.

It has been exactly a year since my program ended. So let's go back to where I left off my last entry...leaving behind Matane and our friends and families there and beginning the second phase of our program.

enjoy...


September 28, 2009

In the air - Paris, France
Africa, Africa, Africa, c'est la joie de vie!
I am going to Mali!
And I'll be there in 6 hours...




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sara and TeresaSara and Teresa
Sara and Teresa

Paris Airport
Sara, Myles and ISara, Myles and I
Sara, Myles and I

We were all so excited. Getting on a plane to Bamako!


19th December 2010

last year this time
looking forward to finding out about those 3 months a year ago. It must have been so exciting and remembering it will bring back many of those feelings. I will enjoy the journey back in time.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb