Chipata to Monkey Bay (Zambia to Malawi)


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern
February 9th 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I spent an entire day trying to go from Chipata (Zambia) to Monkey Bay (Malawi). I caught a private taxi to the border with two English girls I met, then another one to Mchiniji in Malawi. From there I caught a minibus (matola) to Lilongwe. On the mini bus I met Mike, a young Malawian who was heading to Salima. We caught a bus to Salima, a minibus to Golomoti, another one to the middle of nowhere (a storm hit and we had to wait in this random little town until another minibus came past) and then finally one last one to Monkey Bay. Luckily Mike was with me and helped translate from & into Chichewa (Malawian language) where needed. He is the son of a pastor of a church in Lilongwe and was very good at keeping my spirits high when I started to worry about not arriving. I had left at 9am and arrived well after 9pm. It was dark, storming and everything was absolutely drenched from the rain and rivers flowing through the town. Not the best travelling experience. I was reminded constantly by God that He will continue to provide even when the situation seems hopeless.

In Monkey Bay, with the rain pelting down I set off to find the backpackers I had decided to stay at. I was very grateful when a South African girl, Kiera, driving a bakkie asked if I was going to Mufasa's backpackers. It wasn't the one I was looking for, but was quickly convinced that I should stay there as I was kneww deep in water and it was pitch black. I didn't care where I slept as long as I was in a backpackers. Everyone I met that night, the next day said I looked a bit shell-shocked and warn.

I felt it. Shortly after eating something I went to bed early. So that is the summarised version of what happened for those of you who met me that night or have since heard the story I'm sure you got the long detailed version, but this will do. It makes me exhausted just remembering it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb