There and back again....


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Mount Mulanje
April 30th 2014
Published: May 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Mini BusMini BusMini Bus

This bus can hold 18 people at a squeeze
This is really long again! I would recommend a pot of tea and a packet of biscuits.....



Jessica, Laci and I went to Mount Mulanje over the easter weekend. This is our story:





Part one: The unexpected Journey.

It was Thursday afternoon when I had finished packing for our wonderful weekend ahead, Laci came at around 2:30 in her big car, she had brought lots of things like coffee, pumpkins and food for camping, she had filled up the car with anything we could possibly need, (I think she took one of the Peace Corps's sayings quite literally on this occasion.) We all jumped into the car in high spirits and left on our hopefully 4 hour journey to Blantyre. Where the only cinema in the whole of Malawi is and according to Laci the most amazing bakery is based. We put on loud music and and talked about the bakery and climbing the mountain. Unsurprisingly I fell asleep on this journey as I always do in a car or moving vehicle. According to Jessica and Laci we went rather fast and got almost half way to Blantyre in an hour, so we were doing really well. The car was steadily slowing down and suddenly came to a shuddering stop.



This woke me up, Laci looked worried and Jessica looked confused. They both got out and opened the hood to look at the engine. It was over heating, Laci said it does this sometimes and took the top off where the radiator water goes, (I think as I have no clue with cars). When she turned it a little the top flew off and a load of boiling water came shooting out. We screamed in surprise and ran away in all directions. (remember that we are still in the road with lots of cars coming past us.) When it stopped exploding we came back to the car with caution and realised that the lid thing had gone flew off somewhere and we had to find it. I went to look on the other side of the road and down in the verge, Laci looked around the car and Jessica looked down the verge near the car, she found it in a bush covered with thorns and struggled to get it. We went back to the car and Laci put some water into the radiator (I think) and we tried to start the engine again, it didn't start and so we waited for it to cool down, at the same time we tried to see if anything else didn't work, this was tough as none of us knew what or where anything else was, so we just prodded and poked at random things. Some people who were walking by came to help us, but they didn't know much either so they also prodded and poked at things. We tried the car again and nothing happened so more people came to either help, argue or just watch what was going on. So before long we had a rather large audience just at the other side of the road, I looked up at them and they were all in a row about 20 people just watching this commotion going on. Someone said it was the battery, (I knew it wasn't as the lights were on). But I couldn't get him to see that, he got a rock and started to try to take it out. I stopped him and said it wasn't, he stopped and I went to put the red triangle
Random Piano outside Random Piano outside Random Piano outside

In the lodge in Blantyre
up so people knew we were there, this wouldn't stand up and I had to look for some big rocks to help it. As I was looking some women from the village came to help me look for some and we found enough. I said thanks and put the on the sign to help it stand up. I went back to the front of the car and saw someone pour coke on the battery (I don't know why) and attack it with the rock again. I came over to stop them but the battery came out.

By this time a massive truck had stopped for us, this was filled with people going to a Baptist conference in Blantyre. Lots of men came to help us, one of these was the son of the family that Laci had spent her 1st 6 months living with, (the car used to belong to them until Laci's boss brought it off them.) He (Nkhoma ) knew a little bit more about the car and took charge of everyone, He did lots of things but none of them worked and the car still didn't work. A angry woman from the big truck came to ask why they had stopped for 3 white girls and was shouting at someone else from the truck. (this was happening in Chichawa, Laci was laughing and translating for me). He phoned his Dad (Peter) to ask what to do, Peter said to stop doing things and get the car off the road, he will come to pick us up and tow us back to Salima. He got some of the guys to push and one guy to steer the car to a safe place, by this time it was almost six and starting to get dark. Nkhoma brought us all a soft drink from the local shop and we sat in the car talking and reading. I started to re-read the hobbit and as I didn't want to feel anti-social I read it aloud until everyone got annoyed with me, and carried on reading in my head. I got to the most fitting line and read that to everyone, I will share it here as well: "We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! I can't think what anybody sees in them." This was extremely fitting as we were missing dinner as I was reading this and we were all a wee bit hungry and annoyed at being stuck, Laci had packed some sweets and crackers from the US and we ate them till we couldn't eat more! I carried on reading and fell asleep (surprise surprise). Peter and his wife came at around 9pm I think, although I'm not sure as I didn't have a watch. They got there and we thanked them for coming all this way to rescue us! They got the tow bar out, but there was no place to attach it on to Laci's car! It was really dark and all our torches were at the bottom of our bags, Nkhoma used his phone as a torch and the headlights on the car. He had to find some rope and somehow attach the rope to the bar and then to the car, this involved lots of knots and weaving. When he was satisfied he got into the other car and we slowly drove away.



We got on to the main road again and as soon as we started going a reasonable speed, the tow bar came off Laci's car! We had to stop for a while for Nkhoma to put tie it up again. Once we were moving I fell asleep again and stayed asleep for most of the journey home. According to Jessica we had to stop a few times to re-attach the tow bar and the police stopped Peter and asked why they were towing 3 white girls. Laci was falling asleep and Jessica was trying to keep her awake. When we got to Laci's house at 1am they had to push the car into the parking space (I was still asleep inside). Jessica woke me up when Peter and Co. were leaving and I hurriedly said thanks and bye. We unloaded the car with what we could carry in one load and decided what we should do instead with our easter weekend. We were all very tired, especially the others so we went to bed and didn't set our alarms on purpose.



Part 2: The second attempt.

We got up quite late as the night before was just ridiculous! We decided that we were going to try again, Laci had to re-pack and only take the important things like clothes and books! Jessica took out a few things from her bag and I left the clothes I was traveling in the day before at Laci's and took a pair of Laci's sandals to wear instead of my massive walking boots (I tied them to my bag). Once we had sorted everything, we set off and got a bike taxi (Dappa) to the bus station. It was around 11 when we finally got on a bus. The bus didn't move until 11:45 (which is quite quick for Malawian standards) although it just drove to the petrol station and came back to sit around for another 15 mins, waiting for more people to get on. When we actually got on the road for real, the bus didn't go over 40 kph! Which is super slow when we were driving between 90-110 kph yesterday! On the bus we were all reading, the bus would stop at random places to let people off and on, if it stayed still for too long it wouldn't start, it would reverse and jerk really hard about 5 times until the engine will kick in. This happened about 3 times, each time longer than the last. We hadn't even got to where we broke down the night before when this bus broke and refused to move. The driver and conductor told us that everything was fine and we were waiting around for an hour until they admitted that the bus had officially broken so we all had to get off and wait for another bus to pick us up in the middle of no-where!



Luckily there was one just 10 mins later, we tried to get on it but it was already full before it stopped for us and there was no space for us 3 plus our bags so we had to wait another 20 mins for a massive AXA bus to come and pick us up, we had to fight our way on as there wasn't much space and lots of people were getting off as we were getting on, (imagine the tube in rush hour trying to use just one carriage, with no on off rules). Once we were finally on, the seats were full and the hall was every narrow, we had to squeeze next to the seats to let the people off. We were standing for 45 mins, on a very bumpy
Laci Laci Laci

Walking back from the waterfull
road and I kept falling into the person in front. My bag was at my feet, this was very uncomfortable. I stumbled to the end of the bus as it was quieter and a woman gave me her seat which was lovely but I felt a bit awkward taking it as she was sitting next to her kids and husband, she sat on her big suitcase next to our seats and we talked a bit about where we were going and where we came from. She was going to Blantyre for a wedding and she came from a town/village that I haven't heard of but she had been on the bus for 3 hours. I told her about our car breaking down yesterday and that we wanted to get to Mount Mulanje. She told me where a few good places to stay in Blantyre for that night but as I had never been there before I got confused with the directions and accidently stopped listening. After a while she talked in Chichawa to her family and I took that opportunity to carry on reading. We stopped for a while at some crossroads that sold street food like chips and crisps or fruit like oranges and bananas, I didn't get anything although I was hungry but when the lady came back she gave me an orange which was lovely. We were in this bus for about 4 hours (according to Jessica), by this time by bum had gone numb!



Part 3: Adventures in Blantyre

When we got off at the bus station in Blantyre we got a taxi to the main shopping area where they had really nice restaurants! Although the cinema was closed (Just our luck). We went to an Indian restaurant, and had a lovely dinner that was spicy but nice! Once we had filled up and thinking about sleep we realized that we had no beds... We asked the waiter where we should go (as I forgot what the sweet lady in the bus said), He told us that there is a nice one near where we were but as it was dark we couldn't walk to it by ourselves, he told his boss that he was going to walk us to the bus stop and told the driver where we were going. This is one of the great things about Malawi, the people are really friendly and like to help everyone! There was only Malawian men on the bus, I felt a tad odd.



At the lodge we asked if they had a room spare, the guy said no they were full, we were really desperate so I asked if there was just one room and we would share beds or sleep on the floor! The guy was quite shocked at my desperation and went to check if we could have a room with just 2 beds. He came back 10mins later to say that there was a room with two beds so two of us will have to share, we agreed in a flash and he was surprised to say the least. The room was really nice with 2 single beds, it had its own bathroom WITH hot water (that is a luxury). We all got in our PJs and crashed into the wonderful beds and slept soundly until the dreaded alarms woke us up, I had an early shower with the fantastic hot water, which was either too cold or too hot grrr!! We got ready and went to breakfast which was included in the bill. Here we met a preacher from the safari park and talked to us about what he is doing with the education in the villages near the park. He said he was looking for more teachers and seemed quite nice. For breakfast we had eggs AND a sausage (another luxury) with instant coffee. This place was only MK4000 (£6).



We left around 8 to walk back to the shopping place as it really wasn't far! On the way I passed Pop-Ins Montessori nursery school, I got really excited! Laci had to get money out so Jessica and I went to look at a CLOSED book store and the CLOSED supermarket! We walked (again) to the bus station where we got a bus to some random place, on this bus I sat next to a Malawian who was studying Physical Science in Blantyre, he was going to see his aunt in a village somewhere on route. After half an hour on this extremely packed bus we were told to get off and wait for another bus that would take us to Mulanje town, this bus didn't leave for 50 mins. It was so packed that we had to drive with the door open and 3 people standing in the doorway. Once it finally left it took an hour to get to the town, on this bus I sat next to a lovely old lady who didn't speak English, she had a chicken on her lap, I started to stroke it and getting slowly more crazy cooped up. The lady was giving me strange looks and talked to the person on the other side of her. I asked the lady if the chicken had a name (Laci translated) she shook her head and shuffled as far as the cramped space allowed away from me, I decided to name him Hugo Hector as it has gone so long without a name I felt it needed two! The lady and Hugo Hector got off quite soon after I named him, to my delight a child and a dad came and sat next to me, I played with the child, she was really sweet, we were making faces at each other. We didn't know where to get off and ended up 2km further than we were meant to. We decided to walk back. We walked over a brilliant bridge that was perfect for pooh sticks!! I persuaded Laci to play with me so we looked for some good sticks and dropped them off the bridge but they never came through, we waited for 3 mins and Jessica got bored and we left, without knowing who won. We argued about this most of the way to town.

Part 4: The joys of good food!

Once in town, (after every bus, bike and car asked if we wanted a lift) we found the famous Pizza restaurant, they do the best pizza's in the whole of Malawi! Above it was the information center where we learnt where to go and how to get to the mountain. We went back to the Pizza restaurant and had a beautiful pizza with basil and feta cheese and pepper on it, was baked in a wood oven, sooo good!! We were just about to get up and go when we started talking to an American Peace Corps guy called Andy who had just got to his new and hadn't seen a white person or spoken real english in about 3 months, so seeing 3 white girls was a relief! We talked for about an hour. He was going up the mountain as well, his new post is helping to maintain the mountain and try to get more eco-tourism for the mountain. His mentor was going to show him the waterfalls and rivers on the mountain, this is something we wanted to see as well so we all went together, to get from the town to the village we have to get either a bus or bike taxi's. We all wanted to get a bus but none of them were full and we were sick of sitting in stationary buses so we got bikes to the base of the mountain (I think) I didn't know where we were going and just trusting Andy.



This trip took about an hour and a half, with us walking a lot, up the big hills. This was quite hard as we were getting blisters from our sandals! When we finally got to where Andy was staying we had to wait for the guide to get there, while we were waiting we ate un-ripe guavas, Andy gave me a flip knife to cut mine open, there was no-where to lean on so I tried to cut the guava just by force but
Rock Pools Rock Pools Rock Pools

Laci on the rocks
I got it stuck half way through and lent on the wall, but it slipped and I almost cut my finger, but thank goodness for my supernatural reflexes (thank you Emily and Leo). I dropped the guava and it split open! We sat on the benches eating and getting to know Andy more. He was really grumpy and venting all the time! But he was doing it in a funny way, I ended up laughing at him, I think (well hope) this cheered him up... We were sitting near an ants nest, they were crawling all over our legs and bags and all, I DIDN'T freak out (I'm growing)! We moved from the ants and under a small old rotting wooden umbrella like thing, we were talking about fires and hot water (Jessica and I could actually brag about having hot water for showers) as we were talking some of the umbrella roof fell down and landed on Andy and me, this didn't improve his mood but it made mine more giggly and upbeat to the annoyance of Andy.

Part 5: Arrived at last

When the mentor (Richard) came we carried on walking up the base of the mountain to the CCAP Lodge, this was a really long walk up a steep winding road. When we got to the Lodge we got a dorm with 4 beds. Andy and Robert waited for us to get changed into better shoes and sweat free clothes! We had the choice of a short walk to rock pools or a longer walk to a waterfall. We wanted a hike so we went to the waterfall. We had a happy start with Robert in the lead, guiding us. But after a while Robert was on his phone and went to the back with Andy in the lead having no idea where he was going, we had to stop at most crossroads to wait for him, as we were waiting we discussed which path we should take and saying 'I told you so' if we were right. We walked for an hour to get to the waterfall. To get to the pool at the bottom we have to go climbing over wobbly rocks. Once at the bottom there was a beautiful blue pool of freezing cold water, I didn't bring my swimming costume but as I was so hot anyway I decided to just jump into the refreshing water. (You know in books where its says the water was so cold it felt like 1000s little daggers stabbing you?) I have never thought it was serious but thats exactly how cold it was!! But once I got out I felt wonderfully cool, Robert told Andy that you can jump from a little ledge up the rock face above the water. I went with him thinking it would be fun, I let him go first as he is really tall and I didn't know how deep the pool was, I thought if he doesn't get hurt then I probably (well hopefully) won't. He jumped and seemed unharmed so once I got my courage together I jumped off! But I hit the water on my bum which hurt like a bitch! I swam around the pool for a bit and got out I asked if anyone took a picture as I know people won't believe me but they hadn't!! Laci wanted to jump so I went with her again, this time I made sure someone was taking a picture and jumped again. This time I hit the water with my hip that surprisingly didn't hurt
Reading The HobbitReading The HobbitReading The Hobbit

Wearing my PJs
much. When I got out it was almost 5pm and getting dark, we had to get back by 6 for food. As Laci and I went swimming in our clothes we were freezing in the way back. I had to put my wet feet into socks (shock horror)! Every step we got colder as there wasn't much sun to warm us up. We were walking faster on the way back, we lost our guide as he was on the phone and walking really slow. Andy was not best pleased.



Once we got back, Laci ran to put on all the clothes she came with, I had the disastrous realisation (I think you may have seen it) I had no dry shorts or trousers with me! Nor for that matter a spare bra! I dried myself with a damp towel (I used it after my too hot/cold shower). I was not happy, I had to wear my PJ trousers to dinner and my wet bra under a top. Laci's hands and feet felt like ice and she was shivering like a penguin. We had really nice dinner of beef stew and rice after we ate we really wanted some tea. I asked at the kitchens for boiling water and tea, they seemed quite miffed at me but gave us some anyway. We sat in the dining hall for ages just talking and taking it in turns hugging the warm flask of boiling water. We got in to the discussion of geography (Oh No!) and where is what and in relation to who. I was quite quiet at this point and suggested we go to bed as we wanted to watch the sunrise in the morning because it would be easter, we wanted to do something special to celebrate! We went to bed around 8:30ish I think.

Part 6: Easter day 😊

In the morning (if I can call it that) at 4:30ish! We woke up. I checked to see if my only pair of shorts were dry (I'm sure you can guess) they were still dripping! I had to wear my PJ trousers again, (the same ones I have been sleeping in!) and my only bra was still wet as well, I had to wear it, even my walking boots were still wet! We set out to go to the really lovely view point we passed yesterday. On the way out of the lodge and up the mountain we walked passed a guard. I asked him where we can watch the sunrise, but I don't think he fully understood me and replied "You want to watch the sun?" I answered "Yes, where can we go?" in a confused tone he pointed to the mountain and said "sun is over there" and walked away quickly. We walked to our viewing point, this took longer than expected, it was getting lighter and lighter as we were walking. I was stumbling around as it was really rocky and uneven and I was still half asleep, not wanting to open my eyes properly. When we finally got to the view point we discovered that we were on the wrong side of the mountain, the sun was rising behind us! But it was still beautiful and really misty, we could see for miles! As it was easter we had communion where we were. Jessica and Laci bought their Bibles and we read a few passages. This was wonderful and a first in many ways, for example I had never had communion in my PJs before! We listened to an easter song and talked about our passed easters, and what our families were doing. I was starting to get really cold as I didn't bring a jumper or anything warm on the trip and I was wearing my wet bra. We headed back to have breakfast, this was tea, toast and eggs. My boobs were getting really cold and uncomfortable, I hugged the thermos of boiling water to warm up, I kept complaining about them until Jessica had the grand idea of wearing my bikini top as ironically that was the only dry thing I had left! We had agreed to meet Andy and Robert again at 10, we still had a few hours till then so we went back to bed to sleep.

Part 7: The pools of little Adventure.

Laci woke me up when they had got here, we decided to go to the closer rock pools, I gave Laci my swimming costume to pack as she was taking a bag. This was a really quick walk between 5-10mins to beautiful pools and slippery stepping stones. I wanted to go walking and exploring but I didn't want my only dry clothes wet, I asked Laci for my swimming things and it turned out that she didn't pack them! I didn't risk going exploring with Robert, Andy and Laci as I saw Andy fall in the pool get wet! I stayed behind with Jessica reading The Hobbit still and ate some food that Laci had got from town, it turned out she went shopping while I was still sleeping. Not much happened here at the pools, the others didn't come back for ages and I finished The Hobbit and started a new book. When they came back Andy cut up a pineapple and had lots of sweets in his bag, I ate even more. Andy and Robert had to go somewhere and left us at 2pm. I was getting quite cold as the sun had gone behind a big cloud, and lots more had come out. We headed back to the room. I checked if my shorts and bra were dry, they weren't. Laci wanted to go back to the waterfall, I joined her but Jessica's toe had got really swollen and infected, she didn't want to come, I lent her my kindle and we took off. It was a much colder day, the walk seemed longer this time. When we got to the waterfall , we were both really cold and didn't want to swim although this time I had actually bought my swimming costume. We took lots of pictures then headed back.

Part 8: All for a cup of tea

When we got back Jessica had locked the room and gone off somewhere, this was annoying as we were both cold and wanted a warm shower! We were sitting outside the room just talking and stuff waiting for 5 mins. When Jessica came along we carried on sitting and talking for another 10 mins until the cold got unbearable. I went to have a lovely hot shower that really helped, when I got out the others were still sitting in the same place as before. I got dressed (in my PJs again) we were really early for dinner but we went to the dining hall anyway. When the food came we had chicken and rice, not as nice as the night before. We really wanted tea again so I went to the kitchen, I asked if they were open as the lights were off but they said they were closed.



As I was walking back two guys asked what I wanted, I said we needed some tea, He said he had some at his house so I followed him, I was that desperate! He lived just behind the Lodge, they were using the WiFi. He is from Scotland, a town near Edinburgh, although he has never been to the Edinburgh festival, his name is Craig, he has been here since January, he goes back in July, he teaches English at the local village school, he has a class of 90 children! When we were in his kitchen, his friend came back, he didn't say hello, just went straight to his room. Craig went in and dragged him out, he didn't seem happy about this. We talked for a bit, his name is Dylan he has come for the month to see Craig as they are friends, they worked together at Dominos. When the kettle boiled we realised that I couldn't carry the hot kettle, mugs, tea bags, milk and sugar by myself so he asked if we wanted to just drink it there with them. I went to the others and told them to come Craig's house. Here we had wonderful tea, beers and cookies. We all talked about our adventures we have had over our time here. Their stories of just the last month beats any of our stories put together! I can't write them all here, I think their strong Scottish accents made the stories 50%!f(MISSING)unnier. We were talking for a few hours, until Craig's mentor (Frances) came round saying he was going to a local bar then club if we wanted to join them. Laci and I decided to go out with them but Jessica didn't want to go as she was too tired and wanted to carry on reading. Laci and I left our phones behind as we didn't want them to get stolen. I got changed out of my PJs and into my swimming shorts and a tatanjy (a big piece of cloth) Another First!



Part 9: African night life

We got to the car someone had to sit in the boot, I volunteered but it was a 4X4, I pulled at the bottom part of the door as I was trying to get into it and the door came down, I fell off and for some reason lots of potatoes came tumbling down, all over the ground and the base of the car, Robert, his friend and Craig helped pick them all up. This took ages and Dylan started to complain about wanting to go. I was offering my help but Craig kept saying I had done enough damage so I handled the torch as it was really dark and we couldn't see the potatoes. When we had finished picking them up Laci got in the boot but we realised after all this we didn't even need the boot as Jessica wasn't coming, there was space in the back for the 4 of us. On the way it was really bumpy and loud as Craig and Dylan kept singing disney songs on the top of their voices, this was fun and I joined in when I could. The car journey was about 15-25 mins, we were all nearly deaf at the end of it! When we got to the 1st pub it was really quiet and a bit awkward we sat around a table playing with the beer mats and just having a laugh, when we finished our drinks we moved to the club where more people were hanging out and it had a dance room with a DJ and a mix of Malawi music and old club songs. It was fun to dance to for a while but we really stood out being the only group of white people there. When we went to get drinks Dylan was talking to a guy at the bar about where he was from and where Scotland is. I came in and said that it was in London England and he is English and from the east end, hence his accent. The guy believed me and called him England for the rest of the night as he couldn't pronounce 'Dylan'. He hated this and tried to ignore me for a while. I went back to the dance room to go to Laci, we started Salsa dancing, lots of people circled us and stood watching when my tatanjy was falling down, I tried to pull it up but I wanted to be discreet as I didn't want anyone to see the shorts, but a Malaiwan lady came and helped me, she opened the tatanjy and lots of people came round to see what was going on but thankfully she tied it really quickly and tightly so not many people saw and it didn't come undone again that night. We stayed at that club until around 11:30/12ish when Frances decided he wanted to go home. We left the club to walk back to the bar where the car was parked, I was still calling Dylan 'England' he got really annoyed and shouted for the whole world to hear the Braveheart speech before they go to war, Craig joined in and I was shouting back that we had and taken their freedom and we were going to take their land as well! Laci, who hasn't seen the movie was very confused but laughing anyway. Once at the car we all bundled into the back (leaving the boot alone). Dylan started singing disney songs again and Craig was trying to shut him up by pushing us all into him, this didn't work, it started a pushing war with Laci and me in the middle. It was more uncomfortable than the way there!



When we got back to Craigs house we had a few more beers and listened to his music, and just generally talking until around 4am. I crashed on the sofa, Laci in an armchair and the others went to bed. Laci woke up at 6am and went to see Jessica who we realised didn't know where we were! I came a bit later on, It was really cold in the morning so I took a blanket with me to the dorm and had to pack up as we were leaving that day as Laci and Jessica had work on the Tuesday! We went to breakfast and paid at the reception, I had to go back to Craig's house to give back the blanket, but I think he may have stolen it from the Lodge as the woman at the desk gave me a funny look. They were still asleep so I just dumped it on the sofa and left. We walked to the base of the mountain to get a bike into town, this bike was really uncomfortable and bumpy, this is when I realised I had a massive bruise on my bum from when I hit the water after I jumped, the bike kept hitting it really hard when we went over the big bumps!



Part 10: The long journey back

The bikes dropped us off
The oven/KitchenThe oven/KitchenThe oven/Kitchen

In the pizza place
in the town, we wanted to get some supplies for the long journey back. We walked towards Chipiku (the supermarket) but on the way we had to pass the buses, they saw Laci and I coming and pointed to us and danced. We were really embarrassed and tried to hide. When we got on a bus, we choose quite a full one but we still had to wait 40 mins for it to move, this was really bad as I was sitting on my bruise and couldn't budge as I had my bag on my lap. Once we had moved I was sitting squished between the window and Laci. We had to stop and change buses after an hour again and the new bus didn't leave for 30 mins. This bus took us into Blantyre but dropped us off at the wrong place. We had to walk to the bus station to get us to Salima. We got on a big bus, not an AXA Bus but a nice-ish one. This one didn't move for an hour and a half but when it did it was really slow and kept stopping. We left at 11am and didn't get to Salima until 6:30pm. On this bus I was sitting next to a window that wouldn't open. I read a book and a half! And slept a lot. Not the most interesting bus ride. When we got to Salima we phoned Emmanual to pick us up, but on his way the car broke down, luckily he was near Kindle where he could get some people to push it back to Kindle. He came back and got a different car. While this was happening Laci was talking to some children, Jessica was talking to a Malawian in German and I was sleeping sitting up. When Emmanuel came he dropped Laci off and took Jessica and I back to the farm. Once back we told some of this story over dinner and went to bed!



This was our wonderful adventurous trip, Im sorry it was so long but I think each detail was necessary!!



Thank you for getting this far!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 78, Displayed: 47


Advertisement

Bike taxi's Bike taxi's
Bike taxi's

Past the biggest tea fields in Malawi


Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb