Preparations for Christmas


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Blantyre
December 11th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was my second day in the orphanage - as I came to the doorway the infants (aged 2 1/2 - 5) rushed to hug me. They continually push and shove and fight for toys, and they hit each other for the chance to grab my hand or sit on my lap. I guess they've been shaped by the harsh world around them and fight for everything they can get. Even bits of broken plastic (rubbish) are seen as 'toys' to play with for hours, and squabble over.

One child had an open wound across the top of her big toe. I alerted a member of staff who gave it a quick wash in water; then it was left to the flies! I asked for something to cover it, but they have nothing in the way of medical treatments. I'll bring in plasters tomorrow.

The most important part of the day is the two meals the kids receive at the orphanage - every day this is porridge for breakfast, and boiled maize with beans or vegetables for lunch. When food is served the plates are put out on the floor and each child goes to a plate to eat, saying -

Thank you Jesus for this food, Amen.

The maize, a bit like mashed potato, is picked up between the fingers with the beans / vegetables and spooned up into the mouth. I too, after disinfecting my hands, eat with my fingers and enjoy the basic but tasty food.

I had several meetings with the project manager today - discussing ideas around what the kids need the most and how I can contribute with the donations. We have decided to break this down into three parts:

1) Making sure the children have enough food to last until May (sometimes the food supply runs out and the Revered has to sell his own possessions for food). This money will mean that they are able to continue the food programme over the Christmas period when normally they close. The manager explained this means the kids won't go hungry over the holiday.

2) A Christmas party on 20 December for 130 children, with special food, and each child getting a parcel of necessities - eg secondhand clothes, soap, sugar etc.

3) Two whiteboards and pens.

To be honest coming out here I thought I would be spending the money on books and toys, but the other two volunteers have brought boxes of things from the UK (which hopefully we will be giving out tomorrow with the things I brought). I hope all of you who have donated will agree - that there is no point buying lots more 'luxury' toys / educational materials if we are overlooking their basic human need of food!

The project manager understands that this money must not be misused. So he and I will be going out to buy everything together. He has also written up a sheet with all the items and costings - which I will email to those who donated to this project. I would like to take the opportunity again to thank those who have given money. I'm really looking forward to spending it and seeing lots of satiated happy children!

Towards the end of the day the other two volunteers and I set to painting the 'cattle shed' floor with hop-scotch, geometric shapes and other brightly coloured pictures. The primary kids stood in amazement as the art appeared before their eyes. ...It does feel like there's a little bit of magic and excitement in the air, I hope so.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb