Cool Bananas


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Lake Malawi » Kandi Beach
December 24th 2009
Published: December 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

HELLOOO everyone! I'm only 9 days into this trip and already so much has happened. I've had most of the bad typical travelers experiences... flight delay, lost luggage, upset stomach, a MASSIVE beetle landing in my wine, the truck breaking down, sunburn... this list could go on. But the amount of amazing things that have happened totalllyyy makes up for everything.
I'm the youngest on my trip by 2 years but most people are 28+. there is about 25 of us on the trip. The range of age is 18 to about 60 but believe it or not old people can be fun!!! hahaha Everyone on the trip is very interesting, we have everyone from a Geologist to Robotics Engineer/semi-pro motorcycle racer. They are from Canada, the U.S., England, Wales, Australia and Finland.
For those of you who don't know, this is a participation camping trip which means we pitch our own tents and every day we have a job to do. I have one tent-mate, Allison, who is from the US. She has been traveling for a few months now and has helped me get into the swing of things, especially with budgeting!
We travel in a big truck and have already gone quite far. A few days ago I was in Zanzibar (yeah it's a place not just a strip club) which is a beautiful island off the coast of Tanzania. There was no power on the island because 2 weeks ago the power cable snapped. They don't expect to get power for another 3 months!! The expression TIA (that is Africa) has become very familiar!
Before Zanzibar we went on a 3 day safari through the Serengetti National Park and Ngorongoro Crater! It was amazing to see all of the animals in there natural environment. I saw the big 5 (the most dangerous animals to hunt because if you didn't kill them on the first try, you were dead) lion, rhino, buffalo, elephant and cheetah. I also saw giraffes, hippos, leopards, warthogs, gazelle, zebras, flamingos and so many more.
Today is Christmas Eve and I'm in Malawi, one of the poorest countries in the world. Last night I was hanging out on the beach with some people from the local town and we taught each other card games. The were so friendly and one of them even made me a carving. We are staying on the beach here for a few more days and I am hoping to do some snorkeling because there are the most different types of fish in this lake then any other in the world!
So far I have received 3 marriage offers from Massai men. When we visited a Massai village our guide asked to marry me and I told him that I would think about it and come back for him. After the visit we were all packing back on to the truck when he took me by the hand and led me back into the village. He paraded me around with everyone staring at me then gave me a bracelet that he saw me eyeing. "A gift!" he kept saying, but normally a gift means you don't have to pay for it but you give them a tip for being nice. I was hesitant because I really didn't want to buy it but he really did give it to me as a gift! A great memory!
I don't know the next time I will be able to update because its hard to find Internet that works without turning off randomly. And I am the slowest writer so it takes time to finish an entry...
I hope every one has a FAB Christmas. I am missing everyone back home and hope to hear your voices soon! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!! xoxo

Advertisement



25th December 2009

LOVE YOU CAROL
CAROLINE IM SOO JEALOUS I LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU SOO MUCH BABY GIRL!!!!!! YOUR STORIES ARE SOO AWESOME I LOVE YOUUUUUUUU
25th December 2009

YOUR A BABE omg i love you and everything yur doing

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb