New language


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Central
October 1st 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Whilst English is taught in schools in Malawi and widely spoken, I am keep tolearn some of the language during my time here and the people and keen and patient teacher which they need to be with me!!! What is it about age that makes retaining information that much harder.

Whilst everyone is keen to teach me some words my main teachers have been Reuben and Ester, Vasco and Mada's two children. So after being told the words in Chechewa we write themshown and I practice with them - usually to much amusement.

At the end of my first week I have learnt the basic greetings of hello, how are you which everyone greets with in Malawi - Moni muli bwanja and the response - ndiro bwino kaya inu - fine and you. Also thank you - zikomo and a few other related greetings.

Very early on I was taught how not to confuse - chambo - fish, chombe - tea and chambe - marijuana - which my hosts thought it was important that I did not try toast for in error

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb