From England to Malawi....


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Central » Lilongwe
January 26th 2014
Published: January 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The day I left was Mum's birthday, we had celebrated a bit the night before so Emily could join in. In the morning Emily left and I finished my last minute packing. When all the bags and suitcases were finally closed (after a lot of effort) we had a phone call from Dad saying that the big car will not start. Sir Robin and the Van were just too small to fit all my stuff, Jess's weekend stuff, Mum and Dad's things for the wedding and all 4 of us! So we were screwed! Thankfully Mum had a wonderful idea of phoning Sam, as he has a massive car that will happily fit all of our things in and us, with a lot more space!



After all that drama as it took over an hour to sort out everything we jumped in car and drove (with heated seats) to Clifton House where we had lovely champagne and afternoon tea to celebrate Mum's brithday. Dad and I had a small tour of the main rooms one of which was where Madame Pompadour had moved her dining room with the most amazing fire place. I recognised the name and the fire place from one of the Doctor Who episodes with the scary clock monsters. I mentioned this to the guy giving the tour and we looked into the fire place to see if we could meet the Doctor, but sadly not that day. We talked a bit more about the Doctors and then went back to see Mum and Jess, we had the most lovely tea, sandwiches, cakes and scones with clotted cream.

When it was time to leave, every one wished Mum a lovely birthday and we jumped back into Sam's fabulous car to drive to the airport. When we got there we found where we were meant to be and checked in, Jess and Mum went to find Jess's sister. We got to the security desk and had to say a sad farewell and off I went all on my lonesome.

Once on the plane I met a really interesting guy called Richard who was in the Army for 5 years and now studying electrical engineering. We some how managed to get onto the subject of giraffes and I told him my very exciting giraffe fact (it is that giraffes can poke their noses with their tongues). I told him all (well most) of my penguin facts as well. We had a laugh. Richard also likes particle physics so I made him listen to Hank Green who wrote a few songs on particles. His reaction was hysterical! We looked at the in-flight entertainment and saw a documentary on penguins!! I watched that and he saw an interesting thing about the hadron collider. We elbowed each other when something interesting came up. I showed him some footage of an elephant seal giving birth and some pictures of penguins lying down!! We had a laugh about that. He showed me some particles exploding and things.

I fell asleep after that and didn't wake up until we landed at Abbas Ababa. Once we were there we carried on talking about his many adventures in the army and his family, there really wasn't much to do. We had to go to separate gates as he was off to J'burg. When I got to my gate I started reading the 'Rosie Project' I got so involved I almost missed my flight!!

Finally I got on the plane, read a bit and then slept until I got to Malawi!! YAY! It was really hot and sticky but a lovely contrast to England. When I got out of the airport I waited for Marryanne and Emmanuel and then boom! we were in their car driving to their house (My new house).

On the way to my new house we stopped off at a place that sold vegetables and got some huge cabbages. When we arrived home I played playdough with the kids, I tried to make a penguin (the flight was still fresh in my mind). We went to the living area and played with some marbles. I had a tea with everyone when I decided that it would be a good idea to unpack. I listened to my awesome music (the same one that Richard had rejected). After I had finished I realised to my horror I had forgotten all my chargers! OH NO! Lucky that Emmanuel has the same phone as me, but not a lead for my camera we will have to cross that bridge when we get there....

Maryanne had made wonderful African coffee and we sat down to watch Downton Abby, it made me miss home but not enough to stop enjoying the fantastic drama that was playing out before us, (it was the one where the Oprah singer comes to stay). Very thrilling! Once it as over Marryanne made dinner and I played with Daniel and we ate chicken and rice yummy! Maryanne put the kids to bed, Emmanuel and I cleared up.

We sat on the sofa and watched all the bad news, got sad and changed it to Narnia Prince Cassbian. I fell asleep at the beginning so I went to bed at 8:30 Malawian time. I finished reading the 'Rosie Project' it was very gripping and I recommend it! I finally fell asleep listening to all the crickets and birds. Tomorrow will be Sunday were we plan to go to church...

Advertisement



26th January 2014

Wonderful blog, such fun to read, especially your banter with Richard-going-to-J\'burg. Looking forward to your impressions of the schools etc Love Dad
27th January 2014

So happy you're there safely!
moni! I'm so glad you had such an easy & entertaining flight over (that was the bit that worried me the most)! My weekend was rainy & cold in Manchester (so jealous!), but the lovely walks & pub lunch stopped me missing you too much :) When's your first day? Have you visited the school yet? PHOTOS!? Can't wait to hear more!!!! XXXXX missing you XXXXX

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb