Quick Update


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Central » Lilongwe
July 23rd 2011
Published: July 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 21 July.

We literally ran out of the office at 1pm, after Charles heard that government supporters may be on their way to CELA. Nandi, who lives near me, walked us a back way that added over 20 minutes to our trip, having heard that there were rioters on our normal route. The streets were eerily quiet, and we saw a police truck on the main road, full of cops, as we cut through a school.
I arrived home at 2pm, just as the girls prepared to leave to take food to Isaac. I asked if they thought it would help if I went with them, and they said yes. With no minibuses running, we had to hitchhike and were picked up by a World Vision car. As we walked into the police station, Thoko said she was glad I asked to come because having a white person there meant that any officers who had been there the day before wouldn’t think they had been using us yesterday. I understood what she was saying, but more generally, I thought it may be helpful to have a white girl along for the whole trip. This entire experience has taught me a great deal about “white privilege.” It’s been humbling to say the least.
After waiting for quite some time, we saw Isaac and gave him food. On the way out, I was thrilled to see a police officer I had met a few times before. That was another reason I wanted to go – his was the only name I knew (I’m not going to post it), but I had met a couple officers and hoped I’d see one of them. He talked to his boss, and though they weren’t willing to release him that day b/c they said he warned, “I’ll sue you!” after requesting medical treatment, my contact said he would be released tomorrow. As you can imagine, we were unbelievably happy. I called everyone.

Friday, 22 July

We learned of greater unrest the previous night as we waited for Isaac. Because of the previous nights’ commotions, we wouldn’t be able to take Isaac home. To say we were crushed is a substantial understatement. As we visited Isaac, he assured us that he never threatened to sue. Having witnessed everything that happened Wednesday, I believed him.
We went home to prepare his lunch, only to discover that there was no water or power (a common problem, but particularly poorly timed). So we picked up food en route, and arrived back at the station around 2pm. Mindy and Thoko weren’t able to take his food until nearly 5pm, at which point they could only hand the food over (versus having a chance to talk with him).
The 48 hours of detainment without a hearing had passed, and my afternoon efforts to take legal action had failed. The greatest concern at 5pm was that Isaac would stay until Monday, as it was up to the goodwill of the police to begin to process and sort people over the weekend. At that point, I had encountered only 2 officers with any goodwill, so I was not optimistic.
At night, we were assured that he would be released by 10am Saturday, but having heard such assurances before, I was reluctant to believe.
Meanwhile, the President had made nasty speeches in Zomba, in which he instructed police officers to go door-to-door in search of demonstration leaders, and “deal with them.” This coming one day after he appealed for discussions with civil society leaders. He now blames them for the violence and 18 deaths.

Saturday, 23 July

Once again, we were all only able to hand food over this morning, not visit. Still, I was amazed to see that Isaac still smiled. He had spent the last 3 nights in an overcrowded holding cell and hadn’t slept much.
Mindy, Thoko, Edwin (Isaac’s friend) and I waited outside. Thoko overheard someone say that those arrested on Wednesday would be released. I text a’mai close to 10, who said we should sit tight since her contact had said he’d be released by 10.
4.5 hours later, after Mindy and Thoko had taken the first shift to get lunch, about 10 detainees emerged. Isaac was not among them. Edwin spoke with an officer he knew, who said Isaac would be out momentarily. Still, I was nervous.
At 3pm, I went to the little store to get crisps (potato chips) and a Fanta, as I didn’t want to leave the grounds in case he actually did come out. Thoko came running over, all smiles, and said, “Sarah, Isaac’s out!” I left the items as well as my change and ran over to Isaac. I can’t begin to tell you how excited we were. We were all beaming.
Hours later, a’mai informed us that when it came time to write the statement, the police decided to charge Isaac with taking photographs. Unbelievable. When a’mai’s contact informed her of this, she asked, “Where is the camera? You have no evidence to support this lie, and it will not hold up in court.” Apparently that’s why they decided to release him. The police never told Isaac why he was arrested (this being one of the 6 constitutional violations), but if it was obstructing a police officer, they clearly realized that wouldn’t stick, so they changed it. At least now it’s over, and he won’t have to go to court. I would have welcomed the opportunity to testify, but it’s good for Isaac that this nightmare is now over.
I have left out SO many details, which I can’t wait to share with you all when I get home (or at least in a more private forum). Suffice it to say, we’re all beyond thrilled that our house is now back to normal, and that the scene downtown matched any other Saturday. Yet I can’t say the situation has completely passed, as the government continues to blame the opposition in a most immature manner. This month may mark one of the last stages of the transition from democracy to dictatorship, yet again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb