Hello after a long time


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am very sorry for the very long delay in the updates! I have been incredibly busy with the upcoming exams. I have now basically finished teaching. Friday (yesterday) was the last day of school for class 8, and we all cried. Over the year they have bonded so closely with me, I was completely filled with nostalgia that now it was all over. They excelled in their last practice exam, so I was so proud of them and so proud of myself - I could not believe that I managed to teach them and they are now going confidently to their exams on Tuesday.

Next week the school is closed so that they can sit for their exams on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. After that the rest of school is doing exams the next week, and then the week after we are closing school completely for the year. It is amazing how quickly time passes!

Meanwhile I have been spending almost every weekend recently in school. I went to Samburu about 2 weekends ago, which was very good fun. Right now there are me, Nailantei (Becky), and 4 very nice Canadians. Becky and the Canadians went to the national park and saw animals etc etc but I had already done that so I stayed in Maggie's mothers house and did nothing for most days! But then in the evenings the morans (young warriors) all heard that there were wazungu here, so they used to come and sing until about midnight. One person had a home made guitar type thing, which was hilarious, and kept singing songs to me which the Canadians have never let me forget!

Many people have been asking me if I am actually coming back home in about 1 month. Yes, I have a flight on 14th December, and yes, this time, I have every intention of getting on it. I know that this is not the last time I will be in Kenya however!

I hope everyone is well and I will see you in about 1 month.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb