Maasailand


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello again! We have been without water for about 1 month, it has been insane. Now finally, after 1 month of "it will be fixed tomorrow", tomorrow actually came and our well was fixed! I am now so happy because of that. So school continues, we have 6 weeks until exams! I will be pleased when the exams are over, for several reasons - but I am going to miss my students so much. Now I am together with them 7 days a week, and for a group of 16-20 year olds they are remarkably good company. Today I discussed Iraq politics and the fate of Bin Laden and then they cooked for me some Kenyan porridge - I feel priviledged to have such a good teacher/student relationship.

My students are back sleeping at the school, and working on Saturdays, so I am fairly busy. We have 4 new Canadian volunteers who are nice but very close, they even emailed us to say that they HAD to be in the same house, even if it meant they all had to share one bed, they had to be staying in the same place, they will not separate!

To anyone who has heard about Kenya on the news, it is NOT bad at all. There is a fairly serious famine, which caused some fighting in the North but it is nowhere near where I am at all. Also, there is some anger because the head of the Kenyan Anti-Corruption Campaign has been appointed (not elected) in a rather sneaky way, and he has a history of corruption and being unfair. What a great person to head the supposed revolution of anti-corrupt politics. So that is dominating the news here right now.

This is a bit of a strange time for me, because I realise that everyone at home is currently re-starting university and I realise that I should be starting university. However, it means I have realised how lucky I am to have this amazing opportunity to be here. I am so thankful to everyone for supporting me when I have made a series of decisions which may have seemed to be slightly crazy, rash and irresponsible at the time. I can assure you that they were the right decisions to make and I am exactly where God wants me to be right now. Let me look forward to Imperial in October 2010.

Advertisement



9th October 2009

Given the choice between surviving with no food and water, and studying geophysics, you probably made a good decision! Hope it goes well...

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb