matatu


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Nakuru
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Matatu- mini bus/ public transport here in Kenya... only way I can describe is like the clowns in a car trick. When it looks full people find space. The conductors elegantly and skillfully hope in and out, contort their bodies to fit around the doors, like skilled tube riders, and whilst on the move easily slide open the doors! Nuts but an experience.... that was half an hour away to town.... tomorrow one to Nairobi, I am told however they can't overcrowd those, small mercies!

The older boys are back from school for Easter, yesterday Sammy took me on a bike ride- he had been back all of an hour before we cycled to the garage to see some of the boys working (the garage is part of Sure 24) then went off on an adventure only to get a puncture and have to walk a very long way back to the garage for air!

Lesson to all of you on carrying a puncture repair kit!

We then tried to get back, for the pedal to break!

Have had so much fun out here in the last 2 weeks, very different and the calls of Mzungu are getting tiresome, but have learnt a lot!

The boys are finished with their exams, the primary school lot are off on a trip tomorrow and I am off to Nairobi. It will break my heart to leave. The requests to stay have ranged from- stay til Sunday to stay for 6 years! Its so hard to leave. have left to pack/ blog as I was welling up!

Crying is never good around boys/ kids. Dose of man up needed, at least until I can shut myself away and cry like a small child at how much I will miss them and the life I have formed here!

Advertisement



10th April 2011

the boys
Lucy, wow! I still miss boys too. You had a fabulous time.... so jelly bags!!! need to know more... keep writing xxx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb