Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Kajiado
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I left Tanzania a few weeks ago - was very sad to say goodbye to Sadha again but we're meeting up in a few months anyway. see sadha's blog to see more pictures from tanz - www.travelblog.org/bloggers/sadha

When i got back to saikeri i decided to stop teaching (as the teachers had taken back their classes and i didn't want to disrupt the lessons) and focus on little projects for the school and just help out wherever I'm needed. I've spent the past 2-3 weeks cleaning out the entire staffroom - which looks like it hasnt been cleaned out for about 20 years. They have boxes and boxes of old exam papers which I've spent many many hours sorting out so the kids can use them for revision. The room was so dirty that at the bottom of the boxes termites had started a little mound on the piles of exams papers. I've found maps and charts in good condition but for some reason had been stuffed in the corner of the room, so I'm going to start putting them up in the classrooms. The staffroom is looking alot better now and it was very satisfying to finish, but I've just discovered that in the Headmaster's ofice there are about 5 more boxes of exam papers to sort!

One of the projects i want to start, is getting a small library (or book collection) going. The headmaster has given me the spare classroom to use, and I've decided to build some cupboards instead of shelves as everything gets very dusty here and the books would deteriorate if left out in the open. If anyone is interested in donating towards the library or even to some well-needed resources for the classrooms and teachers, it would be a great help and very appreciated as we've discovered that the cupboards and books are going to be well out of my budget. If you could let my mum know (her email address is rosie_mg@hotmail.com) in the next 2 weeks that would be great.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb