Il Keliani and the Tail-end of the Migration Cycle


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
October 13th 2016
Published: December 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Onto camp #3. Il Keliani. Not part of the Porini Camps. However, same principle. We arose at 5:30 AM for a 6 AM departure. The airfield was not far. As we drove along the road we passed a motercycle heavily laden with crates of supplies it seemed. A real balancing act that I am sure has been well rehearsed over time. I wonder how hi it could go before the balancing of the bike was affected. lol.No security. Check-in was easy. Just stay clear of the animals meandering about and stay close. Remember that we are the prey. As we drove towards the airport, the sun was rising and we were able to stop and take pictures of Mount Kenya again. It was clearer and added a peaceful moment to the beginning of the day. Game was plentiful, we passed Hyenas, a Rhino cow and her calf, as well as groups of Ostriches. We slowed near the airport landing area and passed by a skelton of an antilope that had birds perched on it. They weren't eating it, they just sat perched on it as if it were just an object. It got me to thinking that wow, no big deal for them, this is just what is.

We took off a little late. Flight was a short hop and when we landed we were again greeted by the Maasai who loaded us onto a Land Cruiser and we meandered off towards our new home. What we did not know was what was about to happen.

As we drove, the animals were starting to get plentiful around us when all of a sudden there was a shout and our driver took off towards a stampede of Wildebeasts. To get to where they wanted us to be, we had to dodge in and out of animal traffic that included Zebras. We zigged and we zagged and we dodged at 50- 60 kms per hour. In front of us were Giraffes scrambling to get out of our way, as well as Zebras mixed into the melee. Then all of a sudden we stopped just before an overview of the Mara river where the crossing took place. When we turned the engine off we were able to hear a drumming sound of the thunderous hoofs beating down to the ground in a rhythmic dance of sound. As they funneled past us, I fiddled with the camera and the settings. I was not expecting this 10 mins after landing from the plane. Whew.... is all I can say. What a start to the day! A mini game drive to the airport, a short scenic flight , capped off in a mini stampede where we could watch in safety at the numbers of Zebras, Widebeasts, Giraffes, passing us by at a rhythmic clip for 15 mins or more. It seemed like it went on and on. Time stood still. As I looked towards the river, the animals were stumbling through the shallow river pass and up the other side. No regard to safety, because who knows what lies lurking in the water. When the got to the other side of the river bank they slowed down and congregated in a bunch as if to catch there breath. I had to catch my breath to. When it was over I felt as if I ran the marathon and not they. I ran my camera hard, trying to catch the drama and the essence of the moment. It was a smokin' time!

We arrived at the camp and my thoughts were, we had only just begun the day. Lunch came early. Once we settled in, I decided to tour the area of the camp on foot to familiarize myself and do some bird watching. There is a suspended bridge that separated the camp and crossed a river that we were camped on. This is where we would pick up the Land Cruiser for our next drive early in the afternoon. So I frolicked around investigating eyeing everything that held my curiosity. I noticed Baboons sneaking in and out of my vision. They were rustling in the wooded areas and grunting. I poked my head into the wooded area, not attempting to go into the woods and saw a miniature deer. and watched it for a while. It seemed tame, and it was, I found out later. It was abandoned and became the camp mascot over time. 3:30 rolled around for our next game drive til 7PM. More of the same encounters, but with various differences, like Zebras making out. Ahem. vultures nesting, and a Cheetah off in the distance. We saw 2 Hyenas hanging around 12 Elephants. No Leopards. Sunset was picture perfect again with a backdrop of the nesting Vultures. Time for bed then a 5:30 wake-up call.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb