Safari so good!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 10th 2006
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Kenya at 6.30am this morning, just as the sun was coming up. Not the best flight. Didn't take off until 1.00am (2 hour delay) and then had the pleasure of sitting next to the most miserable woman who complained about everything, including the fact that the music on my ipod was too loud! I don't know how she could hear it over the noise of the plane. Anyway, I turned it down and then turned it back up again and she didn't even notice!

Had such a great time in Cairo. The resort was close to the pyramids so away from Cairo centre, which with 2 million people (out of 7 million total population) felt incredibly busy. The driving was as I remembered from previous trips to Egypt - no rules, anything goes, compulsory changing of lanes without indication every 30 seconds. Nearly every car looks like it's been in an accident with dents or something falling off it! On 2 separate occasions I saw a car and a lorry abandoned in the middle of the (very busy) road - both had lost one of their front wheels! - MOT's clearly not compulsory in Egypt! During the day was bad enough - at night it was even worse. Half the cars (most of them taxis) don't have any lights - but of course they have their horns to warn other drivers that they're on the road!

I met up with a friend who has been working in Cairo for dinner at the revolving restaurant at the top of the Grand Hyatt hotel. Great views of the nile (although we are both scared of heights and could only look out not down!) and excellent food. We really went for it and finished with the 'Grand Medley of Final Dessert' - designed for 2 people and basically one of each of the desserts on the menu! I've lost a few pounds I felt I could afford the indulgence. Best meal I've had since I've been away! Highly recommended for anyone planning a trip to Cairo.

After 5 weeks (can't believe I've been away that long already) chilling out I'm feeling very relaxed and looking forward to my safari which starts tomorrow.

I am trying to upload pictures - technical stuff is not one of my strong points but I've struck lucky because Eddy who owns the internet cafe at my hotel here is helping me so with any luck I may have some on here by the time you are reading this!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb