Day 49/60- Hair/ The Cinema/ and the Mall


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
March 1st 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Time is passing so fast here in Kenya. Maybe it's because I am staying with a family I'm going to miss so much when I leave, it seems to pass faster. Today, I decided to take down the cornrow braids I've been rocking far too long and get a Kenya braid-style. The plan was that I'd have one stylist to take the my braids and wash/condition my hair and the owner would braid it up into a quick style. I got there early and we removed the braids quickly, but when it came to the washing, it took A LOT of time! I haven't had my hair washed that thorougly since I don't know when. The stylist did a really good job and to think she had water from a pitcher that she heated with a electric boiler.
After the washing, conditioning and treatment under the dryer, she blow-dried my hair and had it nearly hot-comb straight. It took a while though and before I knew it it was mid-day and I had to leave to do some shopping. So I had to strap the Kenyan braids and left my hair straightened. Just before leaving the shop I through a few flat-twist in the front as usual and ponytailed the rest until the evening.
I was antsy to get going because time was a-wasting and I only had one more day in Nairobi. So, I headed out to Ngong the main road and took a matatu-bus to the Nakumatt Plaza. It's a huge shopping center/Mall complete with a cinema and food court. It's only 15 minutes from the house so I figured I'd be safe to get back before the rain so that I could wash the cook at the house make dinner. Now I'm trying to get a few Kenyan Swahili dishes ounder my beat. Last night were the Kigera (a dish from white corn and green peas) and the Chapati's and today I learn Mokimo (mixture of white corn, kidney beans, potatoes and pumpkin leaves). It's very good and so healthy for the colon too. LOL!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb