Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
May 31st 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Habari from Nairobi
that means hey how are you, the only word i know for sure...
Kenya is beautiful. I was nervous getting off of the plane because I did not have a good experience in Cairo on the way here, but I saw a huge sign that said smile, you're in kenya and i've been smiling ever since.
i'm staying in jamhuri, a three min walk from kibera, which is where i will be working.
i'm at orientation right now, just me and my supervisor cecilia. everyone has been very welcoming here. the family i am staying with is an upper class family, four kids sam, leo, jessica and natasha. the girls haven't stopped following me around and touching my hair.
tomorrow is a holiday, the republic was born on this day, so i wont start work until tomorrow.
i went to a party last night, very classy, met people from all over. I talked most of the night with my host mom, an australian boy named james, and a couple living in kenya. The couple was anti american and very ignorant to talk to, the wife was from columbia and the husband from uk/canada, and ive never been so insulted by strangers, other than in cairo. I guesss it doesn't matter where you are from, ignorance is dominant world wide. I won't let it bother me, ive met more nice people than mean.
Life is very different here, and you'd be surprised at the things we take for granted. Count your blessings, as I am.

I will hoepfully update you later this week with my experiences in the internship. Love you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb