Going on Month 5


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have finished up with another group, they were from the University of Guelph. They were a great group and have already been emailing with me telling me how much they miss Kenya and how badly they want to come back.
Many of you will be happy to know that I have written another article for The Bugle- Observer, so that will likely be in the paper within a few weeks!
This trip had it's ups and downs as we had a run in with black momba snake found in the bathroom; it was quickly taken care of by the night watchmen. There were some small illnesses that were also treated with antibiotics, however the overall trip went very well. My next group I will be facilitating is a Jewish private school from Orange County, Irvine, CA. I am brushing up on Jewish History and learning about religious practises. I am certain it will be learning experience for me as well.
I am currently facing some big decisions as to what I will be doing come this fall and next year. I have to option to stay until the end of October, which in that case I would return home and make the decision of working either in Toronto or take some time off. The next contract would start December and go until September 2010. I would love to return to Kenya again as I do love it here. Just a few things to think about before making so many decisions.

I thought for this blog entry, I would write about a common occurence that I see that was very upsetting for my last group. While working on the build site, where we are currently building a health clinic, there is a young family that lives close by. The father of this family is one of the construction workers. His son, who is 18 months old is always watching his father and the new comers work away. He is not accompanied by his mother or siblings. He is free the walk around and stays close to home and his father who is visibly working with the participants. On more than one occassion, he had a machete. He was playing with it, practising how to cut trees, and sticks. The machete was almost as large as he was. Another day I saw him trying to learn how to work an axe, copying the motion he has seen many times from his elders. Some of my participants saw the little boy, Kiproditch playing with these, known to many as dangerous tools. With some of my participants crying, I asked the father if he could remove the sharp objects from the 18 months old baby, as the kids were very concerned for his safety.
It was quite alarming for us to see such a small baby with potential weapons, especially when back home a baby isn't allowed to play with as much as a butter knife. In Kenya, small children as young as 3 and 4 are responsible to get firewood and cut grass at school. It is not uncommon to see small kids with machetes, walking along side the road carrying water or another small infant on their backs. The level of responsibility expected at a small age continously shocks me. I just think it's so ironic how kids back in North America barely have to make their beds and expect an allowance in some family homes, and Kenyan children are fetching water, walking to school alone, collecting firewood, herding goats, sheep and cattle before they know their times tables. I see it everyday here and just wanted to raise the issue of responsibility expected of children between the two countries..... let me know what you think!

I have to get going, but I am always happy to hear from you!
Take care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb