Sunday


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to a Kenya led church for the international people. It was pretty interesting but I still hope to go to a Kenya church more downtown next week. I then went to the Villagemarket and had lunch with a few teachers before an afternoon of swimming with my family (it was the youngest boy's birthday!).
I will have to admit I am having the opposite of culture shock in that I live a very western community (its called Randa). It is hard because I am the youngest person working at my school and to them Kenya is their daily life, so I have yet to make friends to explore with. I have made one friend, Antini, who teaches me new Swahili words everyday. He is from 'up country' and works here in the city so he only gets to go home and see his 3 boys once every 2 months. But even he is very protective of me (this is what you want to hear!) and won't take me to 'the slums'. So my goal for the week is to make at least one adventerous friend haha. I say that because it is impossible for me to travel alone as a white female here. The 'safety rule' is if I have at least one person with me and I am back before dark, then anywhere is fine. Although I have been here less than a week it is VERY hard for me to be patient...I want to go explore!
I am sleeping better and have started to adjust to the food (although I still have to be pretty careful) and elevation so that is a praise! I ask that you continue to pray about the language and all that God is doing my heart.

Advertisement



8th March 2009

JAMBO
Cmay we are all praying for you and miss you very much. I am so happy that I get to stay somewhat updated on your experiences. Please come back speaking swahili. Love, Carrie
9th March 2009

Holla back!
Ms. May, Let me restate the obvious...you are in Kenya!! I can't believe it. The other day, I was thinking about people who live their life to the fullest and follow their dreams...your name came to mind!!! I'm so excited for you!!!! (hence the million exclamation marks) love, kelly

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb