Week 2!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is Tuesday- in Kenya for 2 weeks as of today.

I'm really happy to be getting so much feed back and questions about my previous blogs! Before I get into what's been going on this past week, I'll answer some questions to some of the statements I have written. I wrote about a boy we saw late at night huffing on something out of a plastic bottle, I didn't know at the time what he was inhaling, nor the reason for it. I asked my very knowledgeable co-worker what was really taking place? He informed us that when considering whether or not to give street kids money or food, it's always better to give them food, because when given the option, they would take the money and buy an inhalant, because by huffing on a gas or chemical of somekind, it will reduce, or numb the hunger. They don't know when or where they will be getting their next meal, so if they can they will numb the hunger.
Another issue that came up was talking about the prositutes that live in the largest slum in Subsaharan Africa- Kibera. Currently there is research being done with these women because they have become immune to HIV. The reasoning behind their findings is that they have been exposed to the virus so much that the antibodies- Killer T cells are produced in massive amounts, and they are able to fight it off. Research is currently happening and will continue into 2010. An interesting finding was that after these women were taken out of prostitution for a period of 6 months and then returned, they contracted HIV! Why you ask? When the women were not constantly exposed to the virus, their bodies stopped producing the antibodies in huge quantities and went back to normal. Upon being exposed, their bodies weren't prepared, thus contracted HIV/AIDS. I read a recent newspaper article in the Nation- a newspaper here, if you are interested here is the link:

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/-/1056/492490/-/tm2v82/-/index.html

Well, on a lighter note, this past week has been filled with Swahili classes, meetings and scheduling. We are regularing sitting down with the Kenyan team going over groups that have confirmed they are coming, making contact with them back in North America, typing up and building our presentations about social issues. We will be presenting them this week... pressure is on!
For now I am in Nairobi and am 5 minutes away from an amazing mall, equipped with bowling, a movie theater, food court and many stores. Last night after supper we thought it would be a great idea to take advantage of mzuri Mondays - good Mondays at the theaters where for 400 shillings, or approx. 5$ you get a movie, popcorn, drink and chocolate bar! We sat down with our treats and before the movie started the national anthem played! We had to stand up! I then learned that the police make regular checks to see if everyone is standing, if you are not- you are charged with a fine! Suprised?? I certainly was! Oh the movie we watched was the Changeling, which again for me was quite strange... watching a movie based in Los Angeles while in Nairobi.

Please feel free to email!


Cheers,
Emily

Advertisement



27th January 2009

Hi Emily, I just read your post today! I learned a lot of things that I didn’t know!!!! (about the HIV and prostitutes). Take care!!! Do as well as you can for this people! Let’s stay in touch! God bless you always, Daniel Tsukimoto
29th January 2009

School Me
Feel like I'm in social studies class...how cool you're learning things people will never know. I can't image how vast and broad your knowledge of the world will be at the end of this. I'm so proud to know you, keep it going and keep that smile ;P
29th January 2009

So proud of you Em!! It's nice to see you haven't forgotten your science background and how to explain it. XOXO
30th January 2009

Wowsers!!
Hey Em!! These blogs are so freaking interesting!! That's so wild about the prostitutes not contracting AIDS - I read about that when I was in MTA virology, but I'm sure there have been much more advances made since then! Sounds like the experience of a lifetime ;) Miss you!!! xo
23rd February 2009

hey emy!!! i am finally reading your blogs... they are great!! keep writing, it sounds so interesting over there, a real life changing experience. i could use that,, lol. anyways miss you!!!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb