January 7th


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Last night we woke up to some sounds outside of the sliding door out of our room. When I looked out I saw one big elephant and two baby elephants. Only 20 feet away. Because they are experiencing quite a dry spell they are sometimes breaking the fence at the hotel so that they can come and eat some green grass. We watched them for about an hour and then headed off to bed. At 2am I was woken up to the sound of pulling grass. I stumbled to the door and saw a huge hippo munching away, a foot away from where I was standing. I was scared to open the door too far, but I did open it enough so that I could get an unobstructed view.

We have been so fortunate to see many, many cats on our drives. This morning at our game drive we saw 17 lions walking across the plains. One playful lion cub started chasing our vehicle - I was a little nervous since I didn't know if they could jump into the open top. Our guide was laughing at me telling me that they only want to play... Yesterday a cheetah did the same thing, saw me looking at him from the open top and looked like he was going to jump.

A couple of days ago Crista was eating breakfast & I was at the buffet table getting my food. A monkey jumped up on my empty chair and tried to snatch Crista's plate away from her. She pulled it away from him and he proceeded to stick his hand in her juice. When I looked over , Crista was standing next to the table, holding her plate and the monkey was sitting on the table with his face in her juice glass, lapping up passion fruit juice. I tried to scare him off and we struggled over spoon. He ran away empty handed and now Crista finds herself looking over her shoulder while she eats now. 😊

We have one more game drive here in Masi Mara and then we head back to Nairobi for the night. It's a long hard drive and you are off roading most of the way. They call them roads, but as far as I'm concerned, you are really off roading. After spending the night in Nairobi we will head off to Tanzania to do more safari drives and see Mt. Kilimangaro.

Things are looking up, I was asked the other day how many camels I would like for Crista. She likes the idea of camels rather than goats for some reason. 😊

TTFN..

Advertisement



7th January 2006

Camels...
I wonder what your bargaining limit is... I mean if they offer elephants is she sold? :-) Have fun! sharon

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb