Postponed: Volunteering in Kenya hopefully in the near future


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
February 10th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I still hope to make it to Kenya to volunteer, however right now I need to focus on a job search, which will hopefully allow me to go after I get a job, but before I actually start.

I have been accepted as a volunteer with the Friends’ Africa Great Lakes Initiative as a six week volunteer in with their Peace Center in Lubao, Kenya (Western Kenya near Kakamega). The goal is to build greater understanding and awareness of the situation people are facing in Kenya and to assist both in the USA and as a volunteer in May and June 2008. In striving toward this goal I am hoping to raise $2,500, with the first $2,000 being for the work of the Africa Great Lakes Initiative and if possible an additional $500 toward my lodging during my volunteer time. I decided that I will personally raise through the sell of baked goods and through donations of USAirways frequent flyer miles the costs of my flight which is approximately $1,400, as your money is best used for those in Kenya and that this is just as much of a learning experience for me as a donation of time for those in Kenya.

Why Now?
After hearing about the current conflict sparked by the disputed election at the end of Dec. 2007, I realized that at this time in my life I am able to more substantially become involved in trying to understand the great complexities of what is so often only labeled as tribal conflict. Knowing that the Friends (Quakers) are known for their work in Peace Making and that there is a large number of Friends in Kenya, I thought that volunteering and/or assisting in awareness building within the USA through their model might be an effective way to creating greater understanding. I lived in Kenya in 1990 and 1991 and returning would also allow me to access my previous experience and build a greater understanding for my work in the USA on global issues.

Fundraising
The work of the Africa Great Lakes Initiative is the primary focus of the this fundraising effort as they have been working to provide aid to internally displaced people, focusing on those not being served by the Red Cross. In addition to providing aid they have been asked to expand their Alternative to Violence trainings within Kenya. If you are able to assist in this work through a financial donation please make your checks payable to Friends Peace Teams/AGLI and in the memo line write Gina Chamberlain/Kenya. These can be given to Gina or mailed to:

Friends Peace Teams
1001 Park Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63104


Building Greater Awareness
Gina will be facilitating two discussion groups the first this Sunday, February 24, 2008 and the second the following Sunday at noon in room 204 at Union Church. In addition to these, she is hoping to have an awareness building and fundraising event at the end of March. If you are interested in being a partner in this work, please send me a message via this blog or my email, because help is always welcome.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb