The Journey


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post



As soon as I was given this opportunity to come to Kenya, I promised myself that I was going to try and experience it on a different level than that which I normally would experience life. Nothing has been normal about this trip so far - from the way it came about to the planning and now to the physical travel - it all seems so surreal. I’m so happy that work has been insane over the last few weeks because otherwise the anxiety and excitement would have been battling non-stop for top spot.

To say I’m going to be out of my element on this trip is an understatement. I have so many mixed emotions, like how will the kids react to me and my visit? Will I stick out like a sore thumb with my whitey-white skin, blue eyes and red hair? How will everyone in Kibera react to my visit for that matter? What will my reaction be to Kibera? I so know I’m not prepared for what I’m going to see, smell, hear, etc. What happens after my trip??

I am so proud of what we’ve achieved over the last month. Imagine $4000 in donations and suitcases full of school supplies and things for these 50 little people that I have never met before. I am overwhelmed by the generosity of my true blue friends, family and coworkers. These people are so special to me and have concreted my belief that they are all caring, generous and kind souls. It’s the other people however that I don’t know - the friends of friends that I have never met that have blown me away. For these people to make donations to strangers like ourselves speaks volumes about human nature and the need and want to help others.

I have learned through this process what I always believed in all my years of social work. People are inherently good and genuinely want to help those less fortunate than themselves. The problem is that everyone is so busy being busy that seeking out a way to do this is impossible. However, when handed the opportunity, they rise and shine to the challenge. So many people have remarked that what we’re doing is something they have always dreamed of doing. They truly believe however that it will never happen in their lifetime. I would argue that if it’s possible for me, it can be possible for anyone because as I’m learning, you have to dream it, be passionate about it and envision it to be true in order for it to happen.

As I sit here on the plane into our 14th hour of journey, I refuse to complain about the fact that my bottom hurts from sitting so long or that I have only slept about 3 hours in the last 24. Instead I marvel that we have the means to transport hundreds of people in a little capsule to the other side of the world in mere hours. I look out the window and see Spain, Italy and other places I’ve never been to, but have only seen on a map. How neat is it to see the outline of these countries in real life that look exactly like that map I’ve seen a million times before? Pretty amazing indeed.

Advertisement



25th May 2007

GOD JOB
HI mom I love you

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb