Travel Plans


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 28th 2002
Published: July 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last week I was in Nairobi for a Technology conference. It was pretty uneventful but nice to be able to catch up with a lot of other volunteers. This week I'm back at site busy writing funding proposals. I have a temporary roommate which is nice because I was beginning to get a little lonely living by myself. She'll only be here for nine weeks and most of that time I'll be traveling so the arrangement worked out well for both of us. Tommorrow a few other volunteers are coming to visit and we are all going out dancing. Saturday we are going to Nairobi for the 4th of July party but on by the embassy. It should be a lot of fun. They have a soccer tournament too and I think we are going to put together a team and hopefully kick their butts. I'll stay in Nairobi for the weekend to watch the world cup finals but then will return to site for a bit before heading out with the Mobile Health Clinic. I'll be gone for an entire month which should be interesting because we will be in really remote areas and camping most of the time. I'll be doing some GPS mapping and AIDS education. After that I'll be back at site for a day before I head to Voi with one of the groups I'm working with so that they can visit the LUMO conservancy and see how it works. They are trying start a similiar project here and I'm writing thier funding proposal. After that I have to days before I'm off to London, Ireland, Scotland and Wales with Laura. As you can probably tell right now things are pretty hectic. Lately we have been having an elephant problem and two people have been killed in the area one just 1/2 a km out of town. I think it's because of the serious lack of rain that we have had. Hopefully we'll get some soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb