Nairobi Giraffe Centre


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
February 6th 2020
Published: March 7th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Rothschild giraffesRothschild giraffesRothschild giraffes

Nairobi Giraffe Centre
I said goodbye to the left African Bat Conservation team (including honorary additional Patrick!) at 7am and was taken to Lilongwe airport to catch my flight to Nairobi. I was a bit miffed that the lady at security confiscated my spare AAA batteries in spite of all online information saying they are fine to have in hand luggage but luckily Chavaunne was able to buy me some more at Heathrow! The rest of the flight went smoothly however and after a queue to get my visa I quickly got my bag & headed out to find Moses – our guide and driver from Adventure Alternative.

As it was already afternoon I didn’t have much time to see Nairobi but I did get to visit the Giraffe Centre where I got to meet several Rothschild giraffes including their oldest two Kelly (19 years) & Betty (20 years old)! After this I was dropped off at the Wildebeest Eco-Camp where I had a chance to freshen up & chill for the evening. I met a lovely Danish family over supper, well mostly whilst we waited ages for our burgers to turn up! I fell asleep but managed to wake up when Chavaunne arrived
Feeeding Rothschild giraffe!Feeeding Rothschild giraffe!Feeeding Rothschild giraffe!

Nairobi Giraffe Centre
at midnight!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rothschild giraffeRothschild giraffe
Rothschild giraffe

Nairobi Giraffe Centre
Rothschild giraffeRothschild giraffe
Rothschild giraffe

Nairobi Giraffe Centre
Rothschild giraffeRothschild giraffe
Rothschild giraffe

Nairobi Giraffe Centre


Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb