Safari Time!...& Goodbyes


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
September 18th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So since my last blog, we have been on a safari & it was something we will both remember forever. I would recommend doing it to anyone - seeing animals in their natural surroundings is just breath-taking!


We booked through a contact Moses had - a happy chap called Titus who gave us a great offer. We also shopped around but no one could guarantee us our own private vehicle which Titus said he would & the prices varied so much & they want you to barter with them - all rather impersonal to be honest. So we felt happy with Titus, & he sat down with us to discuss every tiny detail as he was going to be our actual guide/driver. Also, his price included little extras like unlimited water, binoculars, a definite early morning game drive etc. & the accommodation he offered was incredible! We booked a two-day safari with an overnight stay in a lodge located within the actual game park itself. The lodges are hotel-like but the set within surroundings that are out of this world. Our lodge was called Voi Safari Lodge & it was on a hillside, with views of Kenyan plains stretching for miles into the distance. There was also a natural watering hole at the foot of the hillside, which you could look down upon from the open air restaurant/bar in the lodge & actually see the animals coming up to drink from it. They even had an underground passage built into the hill that you could walk out along from the lodge, & it ended just by the watering hole so you could see the animals drinking from probably only 20 metres away! We went down whilst a family of elephants were drinking, being so so quiet & it's quite scary how close you are to them without them realising. It was a small lodge & not too busy so we had a really nice evening.


As for the game drives, we saw sooo many animals. It's funny because when we first entered the park, we saw baboons straight away & we were so excited! We had the camera out clicking away, thinking wow we've seen baboons!! The guy driving was probably thinking, God I've got some real novices with me today, if they think this is exciting... Seconds down the road, we had elephants within 6 foot of our vehicle, then later giraffes, we saw a cheetah on the first day, some lionesses, buffalo, zebra, deer-type animals like gazelles etc. & so many more. The baboons soon paled into insignificance, especially when we realised they were more or less fellow guests at the lodge, roaming around the place... The early morning game drive we went on before breakfast on the second day was probably the best drive out of the four we did. We were out on the road for 6am & because it is still cool this early in the morning, the cats are more active. We managed to come across a lioness with two cubs & we watched them for about 30mins. It was so amazing...the three of them were just slowly making their way towards a wooded area where the guide told us it was likely the entire pack would be. At one point she picked up & carried one of the cubs in her mouth who was stuggling a little to keep up. You could have easily sat there all day & just watched them from afar... Later, the driver spotted some tracks & we were radioed about another small pride who also had a male lion with them so that was wicked to see. Unfortunately, it was already getting warm so they were lying down, which made it harder to see them. However, on the way back to the lodge for breakfast, our driver spotted a cheetah which ended up coming quite close to the road so that was really good luck!


All in all, it was a fantastic two days & something we really won't forget. If we had done a longer one, which people staying in our hotel have done - we would have done Tsavo West also because there you can see hippos & also have a better chance of seeing rhinos. The problem for Kenya at the moment is it is really dry, as the rainy season did not provide enough natural irrigation as it should have, so animals are actually dying out here at the moment. We even saw a dead elephant on our first day & that was likely to be due to the drought situation as he was only small.


Since arriving back from the safari, Aaron has had his birthday so we had a meal out at a lovely Indian restaurant. I also mentioned to a couple of the staff it was his birthday & because they're all quite friendly with us as we're always chatting to them & even sneak in little presents to give them - they actually made him a birthday cake & left it in our room as a surprise! It was a shame it said "Happy Birthday Austen" but hey it's the thought that counts! Tasty too! We gave most of it out to the night security guards who were more than happy to share it with us!


This time tomorrow, I'll be on a plane heading for Heathrow & I am really sad to be leaving. I said my goodbyes today, firstly to Hill Wheeler School, where I not surprisingly got upset & was a near blubbering mess as I waved to the children & stumbled out the shool gate. I honestly did not expect to feel the way I did today, I just thought I'd leave & feel a little disappointed to be leaving. I've realised today the friends I have made over & all they have done to welcome me & how welcome & at home i actually have felt over the last two months. It didn't help that nearly everyone I've met gave me a small gift to leave with which I absolutely did not even consider them doing. Knowing they struggle just to get basic things like food & shelter & for them to give me a token was just a prompt for me to well up! Moses & Emily were next & they had prepared some tea & food for us & they also gave me a gift which again I wasn't expecting but it was so lovely to just sit with them, to take tea, we prayed & I felt it was a perfect ending. They have been like family to me, the way they have taken care of me & I will miss them so much & I know I will see them again.


Finally, just want to say thank you for reading this & keeping track of my time over here. I shall miss reflecting on my days, as it has been nice to record my activities & the associated feelings. I'm sure I will look back on these with a smile on my face & most likely a tear in my eye. I know without a doubt in my mind I will be back though some day. Right now, I have to finish my degree, start earning some money & I'm too young to take on such a big project but I know my work over here is not over. If anyone is interested or wants to ever visit the region please tell me as there are so many places I would love to tell you to visit. I know for a fact any friend or family member of mine would be more than welcome to the village & enjoy the experience. I don't think I understood what poverty was until my time here - I don't think anyone could unless you see it firsthand. I thought I had a good idea but now I know I wasn't even close to comprehending the conditions out here. I know the saying goes, charity begins at home, but I promise if anyone could see what life is like out here for the people, in comparison to our general standard of living in the UK, you may start to think otherwise. There is real need out here for aid, help, just basic education & guidance - just so the country can move forward. The politics are impenetrable like any other but the people are many & they have power but they just need a push in the right direction & it is not difficult to do. If you ever want to do anything similar to what I've done, please get in touch & I can point you in several directions to areas that need real help. I've seen schools out here consisting of one local village family volunteering their efforts just to take in children under & teach them basic stuff & maybe get them a meal. Forty of them will sit under a single mud hut, cross-legged on the ground just happy to be given a chance to learn. You realise how lucky & blessed you are to be born into a half-decent country in what you might call the lottery of birth.


Anyway, that's me, signing off! Take care everyone & I have soooo many photos so please let me know if you want copies or want any info on some humanitarian projects out here. I'd be more than happy to help! Kenya is a beautiful country & I would encourage anyone to come here & as well as do all the tourist attractions - get out into a village & see the real Kenya & it's wonderful people.


Lots of LOVE to everyone & thank you again so much for all your support.


x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x Lala Salama x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb