Curry Up and Wait


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
July 30th 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I spent part of the morning taking care of some personal errands. George gave me directions that were something along the lines of “Take a right at the internet café, go past the Maasai, and when you get to the tree, you’re there.” (The Maasai are the most famous tribe in Kenya and very traditional. Google them.) One of my friends from Uganda once told me to expect directions like “turn right at the jackfruit tree, go past three termite hills and turn left.” In case you didn’t guess, none of the roads here are named or marked in any way.

Stella and I went for a walk and had a nice chat. She showed me where they lived before the moved in with Mama. We got back in time to join the others for lunch at the school. I got to spend time with some of the students I’ve come to know, which was nice.

A nap was the next order of business. Did I mention that it was freaking hot today? In the 90s for sure, with lots of humidity. I took a nap, but set the alarm so I wouldn’t sleep too much. The snooze button got overworked today.

The normal time for dinner in this part of the world is 9. So late! We convinced them to eat at 8:15 tonight, which was still early. That is not one of the things from African culture I’d like to bring back to the States. George told us that we eat way too early, and if we fed him at 6, he’d be in the fridge again by 9. Wayne and some of the others made a pretty good curry dish with rice.

Later in the evening, the boarding kids from the school came over to say goodbye. Tomorrow is their last day of school for a while, and we won’t see them again. We did a sort of Bible study, worshiped and prayed together to finish out the evening. Irene also brought out a bunch of colored pipe cleaners, which were quite the entertainment of children and adults alike.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb