The beach!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today I discovered the beach - it wasn’t too difficult as it’s pretty much in walking distance! Aside from a desperate need not to spend any unnecessary time in my flat (the centre of the universe of noise and, according to my boss, the slums) I really wanted to see what the local beaches had to offer. To be honest they were pretty amazing!

First we (I went with Diana) wondered down to the local beach, Nyali, then along to the Nyali Beach Hotel for some drinks and cake to recover from the sun. Mmm. The beach was long and empty and the sand was powdery white. The only problem was that there was a fair amount of seaweed and I have a bit of a phobia about it. There were also a couple of touts, although nowhere near as many as I expect there are during tourist season. It was pretty lovely though and apparently one of the least nice (I won’t say worst) ones in the area. The hotel was cool too; I think we’ll be spending some time around the pool there sipping some cocktails!

Then we caught another matatu (I must write about these joys sometime) to the Reef Hotel which was a little less plush than the first one but had a much more spectacular pool area and swim-to bar, etc. To say that this is all within a two/three mile radius of my lovely home is quite unbelievable. These places are the sort where tourists go and don’t leave again until it’s time to get on the plane again a week or two later. Not exactly in line with the VSO ethos, but I can imagine a time (in the not very distant future) where lying by a pool being plied with cheap alcohol is going to really appeal to me!







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0999s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb