Farewell to the Highlands of Kenya...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Central Province » Mt. Kenya
November 25th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We leave for Nairobi today...it is another beautiful day here: sunny, warm, but with a bit of morning coolness in the fresh mountain air...

I could see Mt Kenya as I ran this morning, and the farms and field were bright with dew. On the way back, I came across a group of young teens by the road....they called out to me and I went over. After the usual greetings of good morning, and handshakes, the brave one made several jokes at my expense, and then asked for 10 shillings...I showed, to more laughter, that I had nothing on me and then he asked for my "googles" (sunglasses)...or my Thatuna Rest Home hat...Again, to laughter, I explained that I have light eyes, not African eyes, and needed them in the sun...

And then when I took a path through the fields on the way to the school, I was followed by two girls that called out to me. I waited for them, and they caught up with me...we conversed a little and then they touched my hair...and made comments to each other...we walked together for awhile...and said goodbye as they went off to pick coffee and I returned to school after my last run in the Highlands...

When you get your coffee, remember these youngs kids, dressed in rags, off to work in the sun or rain, are picking the beans that might make the brew you are drinking..

From the paper, a few local stories:

A man was lynched (which means killed by peers) for stealing chickens...beaten to death and burned. Another was saved from the same fate. He had stolen a cell phone. In another story, a man who had criticised the local elementary school had his crops destroyed by students, sent by their teachers....

The strange thing is that everyone I've met has been kind and gentle....Most people I would pass by when jogging were very careful to show no expression to me, but when I greeted them, they would smile warmly and greet me back.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Looking down into the river valleyLooking down into the river valley
Looking down into the river valley

There are little farm fields everywhere here, along with big coffee plantations.
Leaving the schoolLeaving the school
Leaving the school

Sharon, a student, helped us pack up. Here I am with Sharon, waiting for the school van to take Vicki and me to Nairobi.
Warning signals...Warning signals...
Warning signals...

People put tree branches in the road as warnings, when a car or truck breaks down.
Xmas is coming to Kenya!Xmas is coming to Kenya!
Xmas is coming to Kenya!

The BRRRR season????


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb