Three Turkeys, a Goat and Ole Saint Nick


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Central Province » Kinangop
December 25th 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

An abrupt thud rattled the door, breaking the somewhat peaceful silence…and then another followed. The single bulb of light that illuminated the cramped, concrete chamber suddenly went off leaving me in complete darkness. The mischievous sound of giggles trailed off into the dorm and then multiplied. After a few seconds passed I finally shouted at the top of my lungs, “Kennedy! Joseph! I can hear you laughing! Get over here now and turn the stinkin’ light back on and leave me alone while I’m on the toilet or else!”

This is a daily scenario in my life since I moved my accommodations to make room for Uncle Chris, Aunt Becky and their little one year-old daughter Ana. I am the first resident of the new two-story dorm being built for the IAA children, but the early move has left me without a working bathroom. I love my private, spacious room, but sharing a toilet and shower with eleven young boys who can’t pee straight and always forget to lift the seat is not one of those memories I’ll cherish. It is all worth it though, because now I have two new friends who are so fun to be around. Chris and Becky are Nelson’s sponsors and spent nine months as the house parents of the IAA boys just before I arrived on my very first visit to Kenya. They left early because Becky was pregnant with Ana (aka. Boo) and have returned again for a short visit. I had heard so much about the couple from the kids and it was a blessing to finally meet them. They made such an amazing impact on the children…and then I came along and completely reversed the progress. I’m kidding…we make a great team and I know that these children sure love having all of us together under the same roof.

The last portion of my visit has been completely focused on the children of IAA. Now that they are out of school, I rarely spend a moment away from them. Chris and Becky and I have kept the kids busy with activities, contests, field trips, slumber parties and tickling tortures. One of the many highlights was a field trip to the Nairobi water park. It was such a treat to watch the children scurry about from slide to slide like eager little beavers in a lumber yard. They zipped down the
Mzungus gone TribalMzungus gone TribalMzungus gone Tribal

Johnny, Jen, Donna and yours truly.
chutes and splashed into the pools below over and over again with glowing smiles painted across their faces.

Later that week we all gathered around a crackling bonfire back-dropped by a full moon and roasted marsh mellows and danced. Kevin carried a beat on the cowhide drum as we pranced around the whipping flames like a festive tribe howling into the night. The next morning I awoke to the smell of burnt wood covering me from head to toe and I laughed through a smile as I recapped the night in my mind.

The memorable moments go on and on, from cracker-eating contests to late-night slumber parties to Holiday celebrations. On Thanksgiving Day a group of Jen’s friends from Nairobi joined us at the IAA site to break bread and gobble down some turkey…and a goat. Yes, we actually slaughtered a goat on site and threw it on the ole barbecue. It was a Thanksgiving I won’t forget…three turkeys, a goat and more sides than I can recount. As for Christmas, well, Uncle Jeremy got to enjoy two separate celebrations…and hopefully one more when I get home. The first was on December 15th two days before Chris and
Nairobi Water ParkNairobi Water ParkNairobi Water Park

Kevin and Joseph
Becky headed back to their home in Florida. That evening we feasted on Nyama Choma and then the children tore into the presents that their sponsors from the U.S. had sent. It was like watching a National Geographic special on sharks feeding. Wrapping paper was scattered wildly throughout the church and the deadly teeth of the youngsters glistened in their numerous smiles. I didn’t dare touch a single gift in fear of losing a finger.

The highlight of the Christmas gifts had to be the Spiderman costumes that Chris and Becky brought for the boys. It was like a Comic book convention with Super heroes at ever turn of the head. The next morning I crept into the boy’s dorm as usual and peeked around the corner to see if any of my little buddies were awake. What I found was quiet the surprise. Before me was a room full of little Spidermen each fast asleep on their bed. Every single one of the young boys had gone to sleep wearing their new costume…which was now probably drenched in pee. Only one boy lied awake and that was little Newton. I watched quietly as he laid there in his
Chris, Becky, Ana and NelsonChris, Becky, Ana and NelsonChris, Becky, Ana and Nelson

Chris and Becky have been sponsoring Nelson since the beginning of IAA.
Spidey outfit intently examining his brand new, fire engine-red match box car that he held only inches in front of his eyes. This was Newton’s first Christmas at IAA and one I’m sure he’ll never forget.

The second Christmas celebration I enjoyed was on Christmas Eve. This time instead of giving gifts to all of the kids, I did something a little different. A week prior I went to Naivasha and purchased (with the money you donated) buckets, blankets, soap, bowls, candy and all types of food to place in a Christmas basket (actually the bucket was the basket). I then put together twenty identical Christmas baskets…buckets…whatever…for each of the IAA kids to deliver to a neighbor of their choice. The one thing I asked was that they pick a family that truly needs it. That Christmas Eve was absolutely delightful. I rented a cart (or shall I say a sleigh) pulled by two donkeys, threw on my Santa’s cap and trotted around the community like Ole Saint Nick accompanied by his little Elves. It wasn’t a white Christmas but it sure was a beautiful one. Every family we visited lit up with joy when the kids handed them their basket of goodies. Many who couldn’t afford a Christmas dinner got one wrapped up and handed to them by the children of IAA. I stood by and watched the excitement in the children’s smiles as they experienced the joy of giving gifts instead of receiving them…although I did give each one of them a giant chocolate bar and a huge hug when they woke up Christmas morning.

The impact that your donations have made over the past month and half are a blessing from God. Your money helped brighten the Christmas of countless children from five different orphanages (IAA, Haven on the Hill, Spring Valley school, HOREC and Flomina), provide Christmas baskets for twenty needy families in the Kinangop area, totally spoil the IAA kids with field trips and activities, and a few more things that I have yet to mention. With the remaining six hundred dollars, I split it two ways. Half went to an new organization called Fruits of Change Ministries run by a friend to IAA named George (or simply GG). Fruits of Change Ministries works with single mothers who have children and turn to prostitution as a means of feeding their family. Through prostitution
Ruthie and SolomonRuthie and SolomonRuthie and Solomon

The best of friends
these women usually become infected with HIV, die and leave behind numerous orphans. This is not the organizations only avenue of help but is its primary focus until more support is given.

I decided to use the other half of the money to put a young man named Johnny Njenga through school to become an electrician. I first met Johnny on my second visit to Kenya and have played soccer with him and his friends on most weekends. He is eighteen years old and has been unable to continue his schooling from lack of funds. He works around IAA on whatever jobs he can pick up and has proven to be a very hard worker. Using the money, he will work as an apprentice under a licensed electrician until he is certified to go on his own. This will allow for a brighter future with much better pay than working in the garden. I could tell instantly from the huge smile on his face that I had made the right decision. I will continue to check on him through James and Daniel (IAA staff) to make sure he is accomplishing his dream.

Before I wrap it up, I would like to take a minute and share with you the story of IAA’s little Johnny Muhio (and no, not the guy I was just speaking of…there are a lot of Johnny’s in Kenya). His past had a very sad and dark beginning which, by the grace of God, blossomed into a beautiful, love-filled life.

Before Johnny came to IAA he lived with his Aunt because his mother had died of AIDS and he never knew his father. The aunt that cared for him actually did not care for him at all. She would frequently beat him for the slightest reason. Johnny did not go to school like the other children his age but instead he stood outside the barbed wire fence of the school yard and peered through with a deep longing to be on that other side. On one unforgettable day, Johnny’s aunt became violently angry and struck him with a machete, delivering a deep cut to the young four-year old’s hand. He ran for his life and took refuge at the neighbors. The police were called and his aunt was seized.

On this very same day, Jen and Christine were departing from the private school (Good Shepherd Academy) that the IAA kids attend (the very school Johnny looked in on daily) and they received a call from the officials that had the injured child. Knowing that IAA looks after orphans, the officials called Christine and asked if they could care for little Johnny. The police station is located just beside the kid’s school so they quickly pulled over. Jen and Christine, after hearing the situation and seeing Johnny’s condition, answered yes with no hesitation. Upon introduction Jen asked the young, scared child, who had probably never seen a white person before, if he had any idea who she was, and Johnny simply answered, “An angel?”

From that day forward, IAA has cared for little Johnny and completely changed his life. That year he joined the children on the other side of that school yard fence and brought tears to the eyes of the teachers of Good Shepherd who recognized his face. They had seen him day after day staring in from the outside with sad, little eyes that now were filled with joy and hope. Little Johnny has gone from the bruised and battered child whose belly was full of worms to a healthy young boy who is loved and has a bright future before him. I have attached a picture of Johnny (at age 4) the day he arrived at IAA and then some pictures of him today at age seven. You will be amazed at the difference. I fell in love with this kid the first time I met him and I look forward to watching him grow into the kind and successful man I know he’ll be.

Well, I guess that about sums up the last part of my trip. It has again proven to be an amazing experience and fortunate blessing to come to Kenya and work with these children. If anyone is interested in learning more about IAA or one of the other organizations I visited please drop me an e-mail, check IAA’s website (www.intoabbasarms.org) or contact Jen through her blog at www.mytb.org/ITHM. I would like to thank every one of you who supported the cause, Jane and the staff of IAA for allowing me the opportunity, Jen and her mother who run ITHM (congrats on your engagement Jen…you’re a sly dog Johnny) and the children of IAA who have stirred my heart. I’ll miss you Nelson, Francis, Joseph, Kennedy, Simon, George, Kevin, Josephat, Moses, Newton, Johnny, Solomon, Eunice, Caren, Sheilah, Grace, Maggy, Lydia, Teresia and Ruthie. You will always be in my thoughts and prayers. Kwa heri rafiki zangu…goodbye my friends!

Oh yeah, I nearly forgot…I have posted some of the Christmas rhymes I wrote for the children during the holidays. They are a bit silly but all in good fun. I would frequently sing them aloud to the kids at dinner causing them to blow chai out their noses. Note that I have used a few Swahili words that I will translate for you: Cho = toilet, Nyama Choma = roasted meat (usually goat), Ugali = a white, paste-like substance that Kenyans love to munch on, and lastly, Kuhara…well, I’ll just let you guess on that one or let you look it up. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I’ll see you all very soon.



Twas the Night Before Christmas

Twas the night before Christmas and all through the site
Not a creature was stirring beneath the moonlight.
But then came a rustle and scamper of feet.
Who was it? Uncle Jeremy…who’d eaten bad meat.
Nyama Choma that
is…Kenyan Gold!
His tummy sputtered and rumbled with a thunderous quake
As he snuck through the dorm avoiding to wake
The eleven young lads who slumbered so fast
He eased, he shuffled and then tip toed past.
All seemed good up until he flushed
Then out came the sound of a ferocious gush.
Uncle leaped from the cho and tried to escape
For he knew some boys would surely wake.
But his fear became true two steps from the door
When out popped Johnny, Newton and George.
“Do you have presents?” blurted Johnny through his grin.
“One big one,” said Uncle, “but I flushed it my friend!”


JINGLE BELLS

Dashing to the cho, with clothes in disarray.
Up the hill I go, Kuhara on the way.
Jen just got a ring, which makes her smile so bright.
What fun it is to dance and sing at IAA tonight…oooh!

Jingle Bells, the boy’s dorm smells, Donna has her stick,
Ugali, greens and loads of beans have gotten uncle sick…Hey!
Jingle Bells, cabbage and kale, cook us up some meat,
Cartilage, fat and all of that, the kids will surely eat…Hey!
Jingle Bells, Solomon wails and Ruthie has a booger,
I’ll skip the pie and have some chai loaded down with sugar…Hey!
Jingle Bells, Christmas tales, twenty kids to spoil,
Load the van, we’ve gotta a plan, but first lets check the oil…Hey!
Jingle Bells, market sales, water park delight,
Giant slides, dark tanned hides, but uncles still pale white…Hey!
Jingle Bells, windy gales, a bonfire beneath the moon,
Thanksgivings past, oh what a blast and Christmas is coming soon…Oh Yeah!


Jeremy the Redneck Uncle

Jeremy the Redneck Uncle had a very shiny head
When the children saw it they all claimed he shed.
All of the IAA children used to laugh and call him names,
They wouldn’t let poor uncle play in any football games.

Then one foggy Christmas day the locals came to play.
They scored more goals than the kids could match and this quickly made them say…
Uncle please help us, we’re doomed without your skill.
Your moves are sweet and hard to beat and your shots are made to kill.

Then all the children loved him and they shouted out with glee,
Jeremy the Redneck Uncle led them to victory!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 32


Advertisement

Maggy and I doing a little jacket switchMaggy and I doing a little jacket switch
Maggy and I doing a little jacket switch

Pink is definitely my color
Little Johnny's first day at IAA (age 4)Little Johnny's first day at IAA (age 4)
Little Johnny's first day at IAA (age 4)

Bruised and battered with a tummy full of worms.


25th December 2008

Asante sana!
Thank you, thank you, thank you for bringing so much laughter and brightness to Kenya! We will miss you and pray you come back soon!
3rd January 2009

Thank you
Jeremy, thank you for all you have done for the children of Kenya. You are such a blessing and I am glad you follow your heart and do the things you do. I am so ready to go back to Kenya. My husband and I are praying and know we will go, we are just not sure when. I am glad you0 made it home safe. Take care of yourself and keep in touch.

Tot: 0.894s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 26; qc: 127; dbt: 0.4124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb