Weekend


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
July 28th 2012
Published: September 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The weekends gave us some free time to explore the area and take it easy. We organized an outing to go to a beach near the town of Keta. We hired a driver by the name of Alfonse, who spoke French because his mother was from neighboring Togo. Along the way we passed through small villages and beautiful rice fields, stopping for coconuts to consume. Once we arrived I quickly grabbed my day pack equipped with camo pack and food and took off on my own to walk the beach. The waves were strong and fishing boats lined the coast on this sunny day. Calls of Yevu could be heard intermitently but for the most part I felt a serene sense of peace. Being on my own for a while was what I had been longing for, although I do enjoy the company of others, I also need my space and left to be at times. I must have walked for at least two hours on my own, completely content with my existence and the state of the universe. Eventually Duke showed alongside me and we ran into some kids and began playing soccer with them for a while before backtracking to our start point. The scenery was quite overwhelming. Upon our return, we found the others sitting in a beach hut having beer. I ordered one as well although I became quickly antsy and decided to partly climb a palm tree instead.

On sunday the rest of the group left to go swim in a pool, except the Duke and myself, who decided to stay back and take it easy. I ended up getting caught up with some nursing stuff, reading, doing loads of laundry and of course worked on this damn journal. We also built a new roof out of palm leaves for our pet chicken Death Claw. In the late afternoon we walked towards the hospital, once inside the compound we made our way to Dr. Kugbey's place and did some weight training and then played soccer with some of the locals on the sand field right next to us. It was sweat inducing. The evening was spent watching Game of Thrones and Modern Family on Hartropp's Ipad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.444s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 37; qc: 154; dbt: 0.1899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb