Weekend Trip #2 - Hohoe and Wli Falls


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
February 26th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hohoe

After my week at Donkorkram hospital, I completed a large loop by return to Accra via the eastern Volta Region. First I took a long tro-tro ride another branch of the Volta River. We crossed by large canoe in a ride that took about 1 hour. Then by tro-tro to the little town of Hohoe.

Wli Falls

Quick day trip to Wli Falls. This waterfall is the highest in West Africa. It's divided into two tiers. To reach the top tier, my and one guide took a one hour hike up the mountain. This was without a doubt the most difficult hike I've ever done. The path was really narrow and thick with trees and boulders. At times, it was really a small rock climb rather than a "hike". My guide did it in flip-flops... which I don't think was intended to make me feel like a lazy white American, but I did anyway. We were both pouring sweat by the time we reached the top. There was a small pool to swim in and great views.

The lower falls of course were much easier to reach. And also very beautiful. The falls get more voluminous in the wet season... and during the dry season (i.e. during my visit) the falls sometimes dry up completely. Luckily they were flowing pretty well during my visit!

The whole mountain side was covered with sleeping bats... which from a long distance I approximate were the size of a soccer ball when curled up into their sleeping positions. Happily, I did not meet one. The locals eat the bats as a delicacy. Yikes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb